Electronic Dance Music Production

Discussion in 'Education' started by Qaiss, Feb 18, 2013.

1. Qaiss

Qaiss Ultrasonic

I would like to explore into more genres besides Trance music.

Would this be something usefull to begin with? Link

Also, if anyone knows any good education/courses/books etc.. for Techno, I'd appreciate

3. ArticStorm

ArticStorm Moderator Staff Member

hmm i normally download some tunes from that genre and then play around with the ideas i have or make some mistakes.

ive done trance, cinematic stuff, drones, house, techno, experimental stuff - drones with techno beats, ambient :)

i dont see a need to read a book for that. just my 2 cents.
    or check out some techno tutorials by sonic academy.

4. xsze

xsze Guest

Agree with ArticSorm, just try to recreate and experiment with what you hear, IMO most of the tuts,books and co are suited mainly for total beginners, which you aren't.

But again, if you love to read&watch go for it, I remember I watched some techno ones from Sonic Academy.

I was into psytrance, that gave me more than enough insights in music production in general, so all the rest was just listening and experimenting with other genres, tweaking synths for different results :wink:

5. martel80

martel80 Producer

i think that you are looking into 2 different genre.

You tell us about techno but look for a house production tutorial.
    This is 2 totaly different ''kind'' of music.

If you need ONE god tip for House.....follow the groove, build a ''waveable'' groove.
    You need to feel it in your body ( even more in deep house ) and im talking about the low frequencys here.

BUT
    If House mean david Guetta, then thats totaly NOT what you need to follow.

Also, if you want to do ''techno'' its something else.....

Techno is more about ''synth'' sound....not much about the groove.

That was my 2 cents

Dig in crates, you'll see by yourself !

Have fun :)

6. Qaiss

Qaiss Ultrasonic