Electrical interference coming out of monitors

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by nickveldrin, Jun 22, 2016.

1. nickveldrin

nickveldrin Member

Hi guys,

I'm still new at all of this stuff, so please forgive my ignorance if i missed something or did something wrong. The issue i'm having is that i hear what i would consider electrical interference if i turn my brand new yamaha HS8 monitors on and turn up the volume.

I have the HS8's hooked up to a Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 audio interface, to which currently not much else is connected to. ** edit** The HS8's are connected to TRS output ports 3&4 on the interface, and the HS8 has the option to go either out TRS or XLR, however my audio interface only has TRS outs, so if i'd entertain the XLR option, i'd have to get a dongle converter.

For other outs, one of the two headphone jacks goes to a pair of Sennheiser HD6 Mix headphones, and the other jack goes out to a small 2.1 computer set of speakers. Lastly, i have another set of 2.1 speakers on my other pair of 2 TRS outputs (1&2).

Prior to getting the monitors and only using computer speakers, when turning up the volume of the computer speakers, i hear standard white noise out of the 2.1's and not the higher pitched electrical warbly stuff that is coming out of the monitors.

I also know that the electrical circuit in my office where all of this is hooked up is not the greatest, and if my wife will run the garbage disposal half the house away, it'll cause massive electrical interference sounds to even come out of my little 2.1 speakers, so i know it's issue. I just didn't think it was *that bad* of an issue.

Finally, i do have a UPS hooked up on my audio workstation, which claims to support electrical noise suppression. It's a tripp-lite smart1000lcd or something, and i do notice a slight decrease in electrical noise when plugged into that versus something directly off the wall, but it's not fixed, so the noise suppression in it is probably garbage.