Editing a phone conversation: How to raise the level of ONLY one of the voices?

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by chumbo, Jan 9, 2018.

1. chumbo

chumbo Ultrasonic

Hi,
    I have a recorded phone conversation of which I need to raise the voice that was coming out of the phone speaker (I imagine it was recorded with a handheld recording device held up close to the receiver?).

This might be really basic stuff for a lot of you but I'm very new to editing in this way and tried just putting a compressor (which I'm not sure I know how to use properly either?!) on the track, but it raise the other 'local' voice to the point of distortion!

I'd just like to have both voices at +- the same level.

Thanks in advance!

3. Kwissbeats

Kwissbeats Audiosexual

I would first use waves ns-1 to clean up the recording, probraly at 0.1 and a little bit of gain on the track,
    if possible without clipping. (ns-1 is a real butcher.)

then I would duplicate the track in any daw, slice them up exactly at the same spots.
    lower the gain on one lane till it has the desired volume.
    ( I would keep the seemingly "silence" parts of the wavform included in the original track and not the lowered duplicate)

next I would eq and compress, the order does not really matter unless you raise the gain on the highs ( Sibilance will make the eq go first)
    with a little tweaking you can tune in the desired atmosphere by tweaking waves ns-1 (or at least the volume that it's fet)

This is actually pretty easy to set up in fl studio, I could imagine not every daw makes it that easy wich might make the ns-1 part a back an forward.

I could however make a fl studio 12.5 (build 59) projects with a little instructions (additional waves plugins required)

• Winner Winner x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  4. Bill Vkerchi?

Bill Vkerchi? Kapellmeister

By manually editing the whole thing and adding gain only to what you want louder

• Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1