Does updating Logic affect old AU's/Plug-ins?

Discussion in 'Logic' started by Dannymolns, Jan 12, 2019 at 12:20 AM.

  1. Dannymolns

    Dannymolns Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its been forever since I updated but Logic 10.4.4 came out anI wanna update to it.
    Can't remember with Logic updates, will I have to reload all my AU's/plug-ins etc after an update to Logic?
     
  2.  
  3. tooloud

    tooloud Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    222
    Location:
    8:15 the time that it's always been
    Long answer: Nope.
    Short answer: No.
     
  4. Frubbs

    Frubbs Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    29
    Probably depends on how long it's been since your last update. I recently updated from 10.2.2 to 10.4.2 and there were whole swaths of previously functional plugins that now failed validation - either crashed it or passed and then "could be opened" to update their status. Every plugin from Analog Obsession, Audio Assault, Bob Berry Audio, Boz Digital Labs, HOFA, HoRNet, MusicLab, Full Bucket, Fuse Audio....Some were a bit older (c2015, 2016) but others were rather recent. Still trying to restore them.
     
  5. virusg

    virusg Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    238
    Location:
    near you
    sorry to hear Macs becoming an nightmare... Apple must be insane
     
  6. tooloud

    tooloud Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    222
    Location:
    8:15 the time that it's always been
    Assuming the old au validation cache is still in place, it won't have to rescan everything, which was the question. Of course if you haven't updated for a long time you'll find a lot of 32 bit plugins that will fail.
     
  7. tooloud

    tooloud Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    222
    Location:
    8:15 the time that it's always been
    It was awful trying to update Logic. I had to press a single button and wait almost five minutes for it to update. Then everything worked perfectly. I mean, talk about Apple going insane!!
     
  8. Frubbs

    Frubbs Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ya, for me it was more complicated because the HDD part of my iMac's fusion drive had died, so I was rebuilding from scratch on the 125-GB SSD, using a lot of symlinks to locate stuff on external drives. Also upgraded the OS from Yosemite to Sierra in the process, so it's hard to specifically attribute validation failures to one cause. None of the plugins were 32-bit though - I ditched those a long time ago.
     
  9. tooloud

    tooloud Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    222
    Location:
    8:15 the time that it's always been
    Now I'll have nightmares since mine is fusion drive as well. How old was your mac? I use a lot of symlinks too and although I usually upgrade my mac around now, I'm disinclined because everything I have runs Thunderbolt 2 and I haven't heard anything good about cables that convert 3 to 2. And if I went Thunderbolt 3 that's about 4 externals and new Apollo interface and Octo satellite. There's over $10,000 in peripherals. Still for some reason, I'm loyal to Apple. Oh yeah.... I use Logic.
     
  10. Frubbs

    Frubbs Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    29
    It's from 2013, so I guess it was time. The SSD is running fine, and ya, I too like to leave things along that are humming nicely. I looked into replacing the HDD, but it's a wildly delicate operation and hiring a pro for such an old Mac just didn't seem worth it. I've managed to migrate 2.5 TB of material to externals, including all my plugins and backups, and all kinds of things from Application Support. God bless symlinks.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Does updating Logic Forum Date
Updating Kontakt doesn't work. Software May 23, 2018
FL Studio 20.1.1: Renaming does work as intended FL Studio Thursday at 7:56 PM
Does no one have anything to say about X4? Samplitude Thursday at 6:49 PM
My 3rd album - "Momentaneous" - How does it make you feel? Music Dec 27, 2018
Does FL Studio have an implemented limiter on the master? Mixing and Mastering Dec 24, 2018
Loading...