Does Blue Cats Patchwork do anything to affect audio quality?

Discussion in 'Pro Tools' started by LS2013, Sep 22, 2020.

  1. LS2013

    LS2013 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to use an Fabfilter inside of Pro Tools 12 but there's no way to get an AAX of the file so my only option is to load an AU using Blue Cats Patchwork. Will this sound exactly the same as using the plugin natively or will there be a slight change in audio quality? When it comes to using an EQ even a slight change in quality is a big deal so I need to sound exactly how it would if I was using the plugin natively.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    385

    FabFilter is available as VST, VST3, AAX & AU
     
  4. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    He is probably using a cracked version, that's why no working AAX available.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  5. D-Music

    D-Music Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yes, compare it to a rack, unless your input/output is already too hot of course (but that's the same case when using it natively). Actually, I did test this before when comparing 1 channel strip with native tools and 1 with everything lined up in Patchwork, which is my main goal: cleaning up channel strips. And it's also easier to A/B because you can enable/disable all at once. Anyway, I didn't notice any difference in quality/results.
     
  6. LS2013

    LS2013 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I heard there is slight latency, not enough for it to be noticeable during regular use but does it have any affect on how an EQ plugin will sound through the wrapper?
     
  7. D-Music

    D-Music Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Like I said, I didn't notice any difference in quality/results when using FabFilter Pro-Q3. But if you want to check it for yourself, you can send me an audio file with a FF preset so I can record a version with and without PW. Or even a version with multiple FF's (as in dividing the EQ tweaks). Just for the purpose of testing.
     
Loading...
Loading...