Do I need a graphic card?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by SquareDjay, Jul 8, 2018.

  1. m9cao

    m9cao Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    78
    thats just wasting money, we could wait i9 and something others components
     
  2. mrfloyd

    mrfloyd Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    89
    From my experience integrated GPU is sufficient to easily drive 3 HD monitors, If your system is setup properly for DAW purposes and with enough RAM you will not feel any advantages with dedicated GPU which will just drain more power and generate more heat and noise.
     
  3. EddieXx

    EddieXx Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    178

    ok nice, well that looks oddly good. you had it running for 20 sec and no dropouts to talk about it seems

    click stop and you will get a report but it seems you dont have specific driver causing latency and audio dropouts. so its not the typical HD or Graphics driver issue here at least.

    dont know if you later specified exactly what problems you meant with "performance disappointment"?
    have you tested other ports and disabling the energy saving options in bios and control panel?

    you did see Studio One 4.1 is released? I would try that too, since S1 4.0 and some systems have been known for having problems.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018
  4. mild pump milk

    mild pump milk Russian Milk Drunkard

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Russia
    for audio production YES! it is better for your PC, because of:
    - plugins have graphic-heavy GUIs, super-high quality images of GUIs, hidpi/retina, fps, blah blah blah etc.
    - spectrum analyzers/meters/scopes in high-resolution modes with fast speed and no latency etc..
    - use of more than one monitor
    - maybe something more, so buying a very cool powerful graphic card won't hurt you and your system and your workflow/speed of graphic processes/quality of work/visual works etc
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2018
  5. bluerover

    bluerover Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    454
    Get a Radeon RX 560. Rule of thumb is = 1GB gpu memory per monitor. Get a 4GB gpu in case you want to expand to 3 monitors in the future. It's around $150. It also does not need power from the PSU. It gets its power from PCIe slot directly.
     
  6. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    France
    Thanks,now I know what I have to do and what I have to see!
    I think I will buy a Radeon in the near future.
    And even if my pc is not the best of the best for processing audio,it is "good" anyway...
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - need graphic card Forum Date
Need some graphics help with a custom Serum project Our Art May 16, 2017
Need A Volunteer Graphic Designer For An Important Job Collaborations Apr 10, 2014
new pc build, do i need gpu?> PC Sunday at 7:59 AM
Automation help needed... FL Studio Sunday at 7:16 AM
Bome's MIDI Translator help needed PC Jul 7, 2018
Loading...