Distortion Small Speakers. Piano, vocals. Piano example attached.

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Jim Von Gucci, Apr 15, 2021.

1. Jim Von Gucci

Jim Von Gucci Producer

Hi,

I'm still learning to produce,mix, master.
    Things sound ok on my Adam A7x but I also have a small speaker that I check on. Most music by other artists in my genre sounds ok on this smaller speaker but when I reference to my track at same level mine is distorting.
    Solo piano, solo vocals usually the main things.
    I use the smaller speaker as it's lot easier for me to hear distortion on this little speaker without having to turn a speaker up loud.
    Here is something I just quickly made as an example, sounds good next to my reference track. I am trying to produce, mix, master to 7Lufs. Usually if I solo the piano it's mad distortion. Even in this example if I solo it and lower it by 10d it's still distorting and no where near 0db.
    Just wondering if you can hear the distortion.
    Or any tips and tricks to avoid distortion on smaller speakers. Or to get to 7Lufs without distortion. Thank you.

https://vocaroo.com/1mN42hxgVPNU

• Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. imposter

imposter Member

lw mids need attention
    you are chasing loudness, referencing track and still can't hear what needs to be done...
    loudness is the least of your problems but I don't mean it in a bad way at all. cause once you master the other things, it will be very easy for you to get a loud mix that is actually pleasant

oh and try mixing on the small speaker, get to know it well. hold it in your hand to get a feel of what a good mix is. it's a very good trick

also if you are after warm texture for example on the piano and the mix is busy. you cut it till slim then saturate the lower frequencies

Last edited: Apr 15, 2021
  4. Jim Von Gucci

Jim Von Gucci Producer

Pianos are dipped 10db at 350hz and low cut at 200hz even if I low cut up to 1k it still distorts.