Distorted "Deathstep" Basses

Discussion in 'how to make "that" sound' started by imjoeyokay, Mar 19, 2014.

1. imjoeyokay

imjoeyokay Newbie

Hey guys, I hope to post more here and contribute but I thought I'd start by asking for some help.
    Lately I've been really interested in producing "deathstep", essentially dubstep with aggressive, dark, metal-influenced basses.

Here's an example:
    http://soundcloud.com/187deathstep/1-8-7-deathstep-the-purge-free

I have some experience making harder dubstep basses but I was curious if anybody here might have some helpful advice on achieving this sort of feel.

Looking forward to any input, cheers!!

3. nadirtozenith

nadirtozenith Rock Star

navigating between nadir zenith vectoring upwards
    hello, BlastBeats,

did not even know that such genre exists, my failure, supposedly, but certainly one for wide open possibilities in experimental solutions, for such excellent starting base... *yes*

with layering the sounds, the elements, the building blocks, the results might give more variation (not that these are without all their impact, but then again)... *yes*

just one small idea, for example, when you have your bass drum patterns, your kick line, ready, put this, plus your bass line (with one quite dull timbre, even with near sine waves) through some really wicked saturation, distortion, effects, chain, bounce this mixed stuff into one new track, bounce one kick only version too, flip the phase of this kick track, mix it back with the bounced track containing both instruments, this way you can subtract the impact of the kick from the mixed track, but depending on the mixing levels you will have parts of the impact of the kick line in it, use this in parallel with the original tracks with the required dosage, perhaps at drop times, at structural peaks, your choice... *yes*

wish you loads more wild ideas, plus the usually written, namely, all the best... :bow:

4. imjoeyokay

imjoeyokay Newbie