Digital Performer 11 demo?

Discussion in 'DAW' started by Joe Crisp, Jul 17, 2021.

  1. Joe Crisp

    Joe Crisp Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    State of Euphoria
    Does anyone know how to get the demo to run?....do you need a key to run it?....when I click the start demo button, it just crashes, any help would be appreciated
     
  2.  
  3. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    709
    If you are on Window 10. Make sure you have the needed Virtual C++ redistributable runtime installed.
    Usually 2013 or 2015. The recent Windows Update removes older versions leaving you with the 2015-2019 pack usually.

    Also make sure .NetFramework is current.

    Tech Specs
     
  4. JMOUTTON

    JMOUTTON Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Virginia
    Hopefully they fixed the graphic rendering and lagy ui, which are really my biggest gripes with DPX.
    Looking forward to some time with the demo this weekend.
     
  5. ronky

    ronky Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    And I'm looking forward to the keygen))
     
  6. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    709
    GUI much easier on the eyes in Windows 10. Loads quickly & multi-track audio sessions playback smoothly.
    Plugin system still acting strangely. Scans VST & VST3 successfully but they do not show in plugin selector for tracks/busses.

    Had four failed plugins after multiple restarts. Out of nowhere I had five.

    Don't know if it is a Demo limitation or a problem. Manual has very little info on VST/VST3 plugins.

    Uninstalled & now the cleanup....:wtf:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  7. JMOUTTON

    JMOUTTON Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Virginia
    Yes you are 100% right.

    I am also having issues on 5K monitor in Windows with MOTU plugins not showing values as you can only the bottom of the glyph and the mouse being overly sensitive. The window menus are much better and more readable. They fixed the ASIO sync issues which plagued DPX on Win which was kind of annoying and inexcusable but somewhat tolerable. I did have some VST3 fails, but no AU fails. This kind of sucks but you can always manually force them to load and they generally run just fine.

    Everything works well on MacOS but there isn't enough a big enough jump in features and UI speed to justify the $200 upgrade price, I really don't think this should have been a major upgrade. I understand that MOTU is a smaller operation with limited resources and a lot of legacy code and that it probably needs the cash infusion. However it is kind of hard to upgrade now from DP10 which is running very smoothly on MacOS aside from lag prone UI when compared to Logic and PT, unless you need the M1 native code.

    Personally, I will wait for more bugs to get sorted out before thinking about it again. I really like DP and hope that one day it will replace PT as my cross-platform DAW at home. I am still struggling with Reaper and SMPTE timcode lock if my brain was bit more plastic and it wasn't so easy to use in DP I might have given up already.

    Uninstalled and cleaning up as well.
     
  8. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    709
    Reaper has very good timecode operations. You just need to know where they are & how to use them.
    • Create an new track
    • From the 'Insert Menu' select SMPTE LTC/MTC Timecode Generator
    You now have a 5 bar timecode section that can be stretched out or duplicated and placed where needed (it is 44.1kHz by default). You can also insert new timecode wherever the cursor is placed.

    Right clicking the transport will give you more timecode sync options.

    From a quick goggle search there seems to be plenty of info on this topic. Both inside & outside of the Reaper Forum.

    One link that may of interest Reaper LTC/MTC Setup by Anthony Miller.

    Also. See this section of the current Reaper manual:
    23 Using REAPER with Other Applications and Devices

    Happy tracking!
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2021
  9. JMOUTTON

    JMOUTTON Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Virginia
    Yhea, I've tried before, I just get confused at some point when something goes wrong and just go back to what I know. It might also be the hardware clock causing the faults. I will keep trying when I have time, I want to like it and see the value in it. There is just a learning curve that I have to get over that I am struggling with.


    Thank you for the info.
     
  10. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    709
    Keep in my that working between Two DAWs is a common practice these days.
     
  11. Tele_Vision

    Tele_Vision Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2021
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    150
    I have DP11, but DP10 is my main workstation so I don't want to upgrade until I'm done with my current paid projects. I can tell you if you know how to use DP10 it's smoking fast and stable for the most part. If you run into any tech problems with it, shoot me a PM or put it on a thread an I'll get back to you if I catch it. ProTip - using RME hardware with it ups the stability factor a notch. I don't use MOTU hardware with it.

    BTW, I only use this on a Mac, I don't have any experience doing audio on Winblowz.
     
  12. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    709
    DP was originally developed for macOS. MOTU still favours macOS for DP. This is obvious from the download page.
     
  13. odod

    odod Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    265
    serial on KCN is working tho..
     
  14. Iggy

    Iggy Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    428
    The serials posted in the latest KCNScrew work (at least for Mac). If you're trying to get the demo to run, you have to allow it to connect to MOTU (if you have it blocked) and you have to input your name and e-mail when it prompts you to. It's a little crashy, especially during plugin validation, so it may need an .0.1 update to get fully stable.
     
  15. clone

    clone Rock Star

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    402
    Do you use it in a non-commercial environment? Working creatively on your own music...

    The only way you could get me to choose Performer instead of Logic on Mac, would be is if my only other option was to use it on PC.
    At that point I might take FL on an iPhone.


    what has even changed since v10? a sampler. can it replace Kontakt for you? Between Logic DMD and Quicksampler, Logic almost can. If you do not use huge instrument libraries.

    So sync is great of course, but how is hardware latency compensation?

    I really don't have the space to try this...
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2021
  16. JMOUTTON

    JMOUTTON Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Virginia
    @clone

    Not much has changed from v10 there has been some work on optimization and M1 comparability, plus some added features there is a change log on MOTU's site they keep really good documents on version changes.

    Sync is great and easy, it works great with AVB, latency compensation is excellent and works with the MAS pre-gen function you will still get sample accurate output regardless of channel delay. Like in ProTools there is some CPU overhead caused by this but pre-gen takes some load off for channels you are not touching, but if you like to keep a lot of plugin windows open from different channels all the time you might notice some spikes in the performance meter. Compensated hardware inserts with a more reliable detect function than Logic I/O's ping AND internal MIDI routing and patching with great granular MIDI control/filtering, all channel meter bridge, there is a lot of stuff, too much stuff that most people don't even think about or need that can make some tasks a lot easier when you do need it.

    DP also is very graceful when things go wrong, it doesn't just go poof, you will get warnings and a chance to save your work which Logic and PT don't always give you. DP also like Logic comes with everything including the kitchen sink, it might not be coolest looking or the latest fad but everything you need to edit/tune/sync/re-time/export/transcode... is already there if you can find it and V-Racks and POLAR can keep a few gray hairs off of your head once you learn how to use them.

    It is a solid package once you learn how to use it, which is why it has very good penetration in broadcast/film and radio but it isn't the easiest or most intuitive software ever made. If you don't already know it or require some of it's more esoteric functions (it's very good and fault tolerant with old hardware and control surfaces and now with D11 it's finally also very good with new control surfaces.)

    I am not trying to sell it to you, but there are a lot of things DP is better at than Logic and if you don't need need those Logic is a no-brainier especially on ease of use and UI/UX ergonomics.
     
  17. liquidlove

    liquidlove Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    27
    Actually, I happen to love MOTU's graphics, their plug-ins - at least since version DP8 or so - look (and sound) fantastic. They really have great GFX. It's a shame they gave up on their virtual instruments. Maybe one day plugs like Electric Keys and BPM will be assimilated to be a part of DP, since MX4 already was. I still have my boxed copy of BPM but rarely if ever use it anymore.

    And MOTU's mastering chain / mix bus chain (MasterWorks, I believe?) sounds absolutely amazing. Modern, crisp and "expensive".
     
  18. Csaba

    Csaba Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately the whole program is a bug pile!
    ln turn one of the most knowledgeable programs!
     
  19. Edna_Uebel

    Edna_Uebel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Since MOTU offers hardware whose drivers have not been updated for 7 (!) years when I bought the product, I am no longer the biggest fan. :mad:

    Also with DP11 with I did not really warm up. But maybe I'm just too used to Nuendo and Seqouia respectively.
     
  20. Tele_Vision

    Tele_Vision Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2021
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    150
    Nuendo and Seqouia are both great programs, but I'm a die hard MOTU DP user. They come out with new hardware every year, so I don't see how their drivers are 7 years old? FWIW, I use RME hardware with DP.
     
  21. JMOUTTON

    JMOUTTON Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    Virginia
    I probably will upgrade at some point, just going to wait a few releases into the lifecycle so the kinks can get worked out. I'm still fine with DP10 for now but as I will eventually end up on Apple silicone at some point and I still like DP for a lot of things that Logic doesn't handle very well especially when it's a large project.
    DP works and looks fine if not a little dated on Mac OS, the ergonomic could be better. I don't like the way MAS hangs a little bit on insert and removal of effects.

    As far as esthetics we all have our preferences, but I agree their plugins do sound great and their amp and room sims are top notch.

    The issue I was referring to about rendering was on W10, I don't use Windows that much but when I do I still want stuff to work and I like stuff I am familiar with.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Digital Performer demo Forum Date
Digital Performer DAW Oct 31, 2021
Best way to learn Motu Digital Performer 10? DAW May 30, 2020
Digital Performer 9.5 (Alternate Install Method) DAW Dec 23, 2017
just curious... anyone use Digital Performer 9 at all (OSX or WIN)? DAW Apr 15, 2017
Digital Performer Native Plugins Presets Presets, Patches Mar 15, 2016
Loading...