Different Synthesis Types

Discussion in 'Software' started by Rthenko, Jan 20, 2015.

1. Rthenko

Rthenko Newbie

Hi.
    I'm new in the world of synthesis but I'm making good progress. my question is:

which synthesis method (additive, subtractive, FM, wavetable, granular etc.) or synthesizer do you prefer and why?

is this question of comparing them together is a wrong one(like comparing an apple to an orange) or it's possible to compare them?

is there one method that is more powerful(more creative possibilities)?

I'll be happy to hear your ideas, thank you.

3. Sonar Sounds

Sonar Sounds Ultrasonic

As with all things creativity-wise, there's no better or worse, it solely depends on what you're trying to accomplish with your tools. IMO, FM synthesis is the most powerful of them all, since you can synthesize every sound with it (but, because of so, it's probably the most difficult). Granular and subtractive synthesis are probably more mainstream and easier to use, but they can only reach a defined range of sounds...
    I believe that, to answer your question, they can't be compared, simply because they are the same thing (in the end, they all start from a sinewave...), it's just a comparison about how difficult/easy they are to use, but with some practice you'll find what best suits you and your music :wink:

Cheers!

4. toni_aguirre

toni_aguirre Newbie