Did anyone solve an anxiety issue with a psychologist?

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by stavt, Mar 25, 2024.

1. stavt

stavt Guest

I don't know if i believe in "talking things out" for anxiety issues.

just checking if anyone has experience in this and what was your experience

thanks

3. Jayster

Jayster Kapellmeister

anxiety ... may i ask: do you drink alcohol?

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  4. macros mk2

macros mk2 Platinum Record

i'm pro therapy in general, even though therapists are hit and miss imo. i've had shitty useless therapists and good ones, but i'm an outlier on the crazy scale. for anxiety i'm guessing a therapist would first determine if you were doing all the basics like exercise, eating decent, not doing meth everyday etc so maybe consider doing those things if you aren't already.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  5. Fireplace

Fireplace Ultrasonic

I've been a therapist for 33 years. Despite the general image on this forum of therapists being phonies practicing phony science who put you on drugs for no reason at all while laughing all the way to the bank, I would have left this job a very frustrated man long ago if I didn't think it did people more good than damage. Therapy is not just "talking it out", you could use a blank wall or your next door neighbor to do that. The first question you might want to ask yourself is if learning to control your anxiety is worth the process of opening up, doing some hard mental work and going through change to you.

• Like Like x 8
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  6. justwannadownload

justwannadownload Audiosexual

You don't "talk things out" with a psychotherapist.
    They help you determine the areas where you're big-time wrong about your life and figure out if you can do something about it.