Desperately in need of help using Kontakt 6 in MacOS Mojave 10.14.5

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by Mezzo, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. Mezzo

    Mezzo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    After endlessly trying to use Kontakt 6.1.0 and 6.1.1 and still not being able to add Libraries with Kontakt 5.6.0, I hope to find a solution to my problem.

    My system:
    Hackintosh with MacOS Mojave 10.14.5
    16 GB Ram, 1 TB HDD
    Dell 24 inch (3840 x 2160)
    Video: Radeon RX 580 4GB

    Given suggestios I have tried but did not work for me:

    I also suggest to use 5.6.0 to add libraries, instead of 5.6.6.
    Other thing: check if there is a .xml file with the name of this library in Library/Application Support/Native Instruments/Service Center folder.
    Probably there isn't. In this case you can create one easily, from the .nicnt file of this library. (if there isn't any .nicnt file, it's a different story)

    Open the .nicnt file with TextEdit and copy the part from:

    <?xml version=
    until
    </ProductHints>

    Paste it to a new document in TextEdit, give that text document the same name as the .nicnt file but ending with .xml
    Put it into the Service Center folder from the above location.
    Then open Kontakt.

    Open the Kontakt v5.6.0 and just try to add a library and close it.

    Download the "Add Library.exe" from the following link (Same as the one which is supplied with WiN releases).

    Run it using Wine.
    Then choose the root folder of your kontakt libraries (you can also add libraries in specific folders one by one by repeated running the "Add Library.exe" using wine)

    Then go to
    "/Users/<user_name>/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Common Files/Native Instruments/Service Center/"

    Copy all the "lib_name.xml" files and paste them to
    "/Library/Application Support/Native Instruments/Service Center/"

    Any hint/suggestion is welcome.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2.  
  3. farao

    farao Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    346
    I have version 6.1 and can use the button manage library to add libraries. I am on Win 10 but I suppose it ought to work for you too. Give it a try and post back.
     
  4. Qrchack

    Qrchack Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    178
    Nope, I use both Win10 and OS X Mojave and on the OS X version there's just a button for launching Native Access since 6.0
     
  5. Mezzo

    Mezzo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    In Windows it all works ok, but the problem I have is with MacOS Mojave 10.14.5.
     
  6. MusicMan11

    MusicMan11 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am going through the same issue...

    I have Mac 10.12.6 installed...
    I installed Kontakt 5.6 and 6.1.1.
    I add library on 5.6 but when i close it and reopen it, the library is gone. In service center folder there is not any xml file.
    I tried to add the xml file manually and still doesnt show when i open kontakt 5.6.
    I havent even tried 6.1.1 yet...lol

    Please help. Been a couple of days of reading forum notes with no solution that works for me.
    Thanks!
     
  7. signalflow

    signalflow Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    87
    Guys are you adding the library on 5.6 and opening up 6 to use the library? I'm not understanding what the issue is besides missing libraries. After adding the library on 5.6 does it show up in 6? Like I mentioned on a duplicate post most new libraries aren't compatible below 5.8
     
  8. signalflow

    signalflow Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    87
    Please explain in detail what you are doing.
     
  9. grdh20

    grdh20 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    155
    Some of these added libs won't show in 5.6 but will show in 6.x.x that is fine. Use 5.6.0 to load and not 5.6.x.
     
  10. hayabusa

    hayabusa Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    42
    Hey...here Mojave/Live 10 and all is working fine for me.
    Here is the name's version perfectly working:
    Native.Instruments.Kontakt.5.v5.8.1.MacOSX-iND
     
  11. Mezzo

    Mezzo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried al the given suggestions and in my request mentioned the steps I took in detail.
    Kontakt 5.6.0 (as suggested by many) is used to add a Kontakt Library. I do not see anything happening in Kontakt 5.6.0 when adding a library except for a small window saying that Kontakt wants to make changes to my system. If I press "OK", the window disappears and that's it!
    Opening Kontakt 6.1.0 or 6.1.1. in my DAW (Cubase 10 Pro) the added Library (in Kontakt 5.6.0) is not there. Even when the xml-file trick is done, there is no library visible. The Library just does not load in Kontakt 6.1.0. Same for older libraries which work with Kontakt 5.7.x and up, after added they do not show up in my DAW in Kontakt 6.1.0 or 6.1.1. This is all in MacOS Mojave 10.14.5 btw.
     
  12. signalflow

    signalflow Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    87
    Do you get a temp file that gets generated to your desktop? If so just change the temp files extension to .xml and place in your service center folder and you should be good after that. Also there might be issues with your snpid number you are using. Try a different number and see if it works for example B26.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
Loading...
Similar Threads - Desperately need help Forum Date
I desperately need feedback on my music! Please listen! Our Music Dec 5, 2012
Desperately trying to figure out how to make these riser build up sounds. Working with Sound Feb 19, 2019
i need a new Graphic Card Working with Video Saturday at 10:11 PM
Need help with RME HF 9632 and routing VLC player signal into the DAW Computer Hardware Wednesday at 10:29 PM
need help running windows on my mac Mac / Hackintosh Jul 10, 2019
Loading...