Desktop Audio Recording

Discussion in 'Software' started by alex921, Sep 16, 2018.

  1. alex921

    alex921 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hi there,

    I'm looking for a solution to record youtube, videos I got from internet, etc. etc.
    Recently I've tried NCH Streaming Audio Recorder, but this software comes with all bloatware, so I uninstalled it.

    I also tried Recordify, which is good as wel, but doesn't work anymore cause all of a sudden there are pops and glitches, so had to uninstall.

    I'm aware that audacity can record my desktop audio as wel. But i'd like something more portable. Also I like NCH audio streaming recorder & Recordify better because of their automatic gain adjustment.

    Can anyone recommend such software?

     
  2.  
  3. superliquidsunshine

    superliquidsunshine Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Location:
    Everywhere at once but no place in particular
  4. alex921

    alex921 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    40
    Yes, ive seen that before. But i'm mostly offline.

    Not anyone using a dedicated audio recorder, no one is sampling likewise?
     
  5. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,393
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    Well, I don't see the point in recording the audio you already have. I just put the original in Reaper, or Acoustica editor and edit it there. Why do you re-record audio?

    For Youtube I just use youtube-dl to download the original audio separately, so there's no conversion from lossy to another lossy format.
     
  6. superliquidsunshine

    superliquidsunshine Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Location:
    Everywhere at once but no place in particular
    Well, you must be online to have access to youtube. So while you are there a simple copy and paste is all you need do.
     
  7. alex921

    alex921 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    40
    I'd rather have snippets of samples, say when I only need the snare of a track. Thanks for the link anway I guess. btw what do you mean with this "so there's no conversion from lossy to another lossy format."
    No, i'm offline, I edit the samples in my DAW (on second boot drive) I tend to prepare my samples before I start producing, not while I'm producing.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2018
  8. Legotron

    Legotron Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    339
    Location:
    Hyperborea
    I use Audacity to sample youtube, vimeo, etc.
     
  9. Herr Durr

    Herr Durr Guest

    does this old fart have to learn yet another new trick..?. vdh has been giving me odds and sods lately
    with only offering webm , and other nonsense, do you use the command line version, or is the exe effective ?

    I know, I'll go try it meself.. but firsties I'll just be lazy and ask you
     
  10. superliquidsunshine

    superliquidsunshine Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Location:
    Everywhere at once but no place in particular
    It is an extra step, but has worked flawlessly when I wanted to download.

    https://www.onlinevideoconverter.com/video-converter
     
  11. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    France
    Best Answer
    I've tried it some days ago.It's cool but that doesn't work for some videos.

    Try Abyssmedia streaming audio recorder,it is simple,works well.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  12. superliquidsunshine

    superliquidsunshine Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Location:
    Everywhere at once but no place in particular
    Which ones or what kind of videos wouldn't download for you?
     
  13. alex921

    alex921 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    40
    Thanks, exactly what I was looking for!
     
  14. kostovas

    kostovas Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    28
    You should try JDownloader, is not recording it is downloading from the source.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  15. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    best solution is some RME audio interface which offers zero-latency internal loopback, including its dsp-powered internal hardware mixer tied to software TotalMix FX, you can easily do stuff like voiceover tutorials, streaming multiple sources, or even entire live gig with various submixes, all without any cpu load
     
  16. alex921

    alex921 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    40
    Care to explain this little a bit?
    Nice one, care to explain this a little bit more?
     
  17. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    France
    For that video :
     
  18. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    France
    Even if your RME can't record directly some audio,you can now(since the latter update) record audio streams via "RME Digicheck".
    I know it's compatible with TotalmixFX soundcards(RME Babyface/UCX...),but I don't know if it's compatible with old Totalmix RME soundcards(Fireface400/800/UC...).
    Just DL RME Digicheck,install,and then record.It is a usefull tool when mixing too.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
  19. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Location:
    Europe
    Ah, I see, mp3 conversion does not work. Also vid conversion has less audio resolution. Try m4a, has 192kbps, mp3 only 128, vid less (in this case 75, which is crap).
     
  20. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    France
    Oh thanks my friend ! I didn't try other formats !:mates:
     
  21. superliquidsunshine

    superliquidsunshine Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667
    Likes Received:
    3,963
    Location:
    Everywhere at once but no place in particular
    I wonder why? Perhaps some artists pay protection money to inhibit downloads. I found some others also. I will delve.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Desktop Audio Recording Forum Date
Easiest way to symlink kontakt libraries between desktop drive and portable drive. Kontakt Oct 27, 2018
Post yer desktop below! Mac / Hackintosh Apr 29, 2018
HP announces insane 3TB RAM Desktop Workstations! Computer Hardware Nov 6, 2017
Proper Desktop Recording? Working with Video Mar 16, 2017
New Elements on the Windows Desktop Placement Software Oct 10, 2016
Loading...