Deep house and ear training

Discussion in 'Electronic' started by Charly R, Jun 28, 2019.

1. Charly R

Charly R Noisemaker

Hi! Newbie here! First than all hello to everybody i hope i'm putting this thread in the correct section.

I'm just trying to learn how to produce deep house and tropical house.
    I recently listened to this song and i liked very much, how can i reach that sound and what's the chord progression? I'm on the learning curve of music theory and sound design

I'm just learning 7th chords and understanding their building but as you might know, it's still very hard for me to identify chords by ear, like i said before i am a newbie. All advice are welcome about ear training, how to learn produce this sub genre or even about good courses

Thank you

3. orbitbooster

orbitbooster Audiosexual

When I have time I can help with more infos but essentially it's like this.

I can tell you that this is a Eb minor

Bass is Eb-Ab-Db-Gb (Db could be a Cb, not sure right now)

Chords are:
    Eb Gb Bb Db (minor 7)
    Ab Cb Eb Gb
    Cb Eb Gb Bb
    Gb Bb Db F

I'm not taking in account chord inversions, have a try yourself.

Better to point out that I wrote notes of chords, so each row you see is one single chord.

Last edited: Jun 28, 2019
  4. stavo

stavo Member

5. orbitbooster

orbitbooster Audiosexual

???

6. Charly R

Charly R Noisemaker

Can't help me maybe? Like i said, i just know a bit of theory but not so good identifying chords

7. Charly R

Charly R Noisemaker

I appreciate your help, all info is very welcome.

8. Blue

Blue Audiosexual

I don't know how some people can say which chord it is by listening a song.They have probably a lot of experience.
    I can't do that,even if I make music since long years now.With inversions,2nd inversion,7th,9th,11th,different timbres and filters the synths have,it's very hard for me.
    I can't remember in my head X frequency its X note if I am not playing with a synth.

9. 23322332

23322332 Rock Star