Decompiling several VSTs to recompile into a unified one

Discussion in 'Software' started by lgp, Aug 29, 2019.

1. lgp

lgp Noisemaker

Its just an idea I'm trying to grasp: decompiling several free plugins, 3 or 4 of them, and recompiling them into a single channel strip VST and new GUI, but keeping all the original controls available. How easy should it be to work the (rather cryptic) decompiled code into a new GUI?

This would be just an exercise for a newcomer to get into the reverse engineering and plugin building stuff. Bonuses would be being able to bypass parts of the new unified VST, and being able to route them differently. How advanced is this project and you have any guidance on where to start?

Peace,

I'm a noob yes, thanks for nothing if you just came to weigh down on the idea...

• Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. The Pirate

The Pirate Audiosexual

:bow:
    Not easy unless you are familiar with the code itself or very experienced at it. Let us put it this way, you are better off starting from scratch and coding your own channel strip. For someone who is inexperienced learning C++ will be faster and dont forget JUCE https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_create_projucer_basic_plugin.html

Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
  4. Start with Plogue Bidule. If that works for you move on to Reaktor, learn C++ to world class contractor standard and study DSP to an MSc degree level or better.

Alternatively stick with Plogue Bidule.

Oh yes and get a degree in graphic design.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 29, 2019
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  5. lbnv

lbnv Platinum Record

It's nearly impossible.