Decided to try Reaper and after a mild heart attack, it might get a second chance :)

Discussion in 'Reaper' started by Bunford, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. Bunford

    Bunford Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    334
    Location:
    Wales
    Doesn;t that mean that 1 in 10 times it is the DAWs fault? A bit presumptious to assume this is one of the 9 in 10 incidents :rofl:
     
  2. Bunford

    Bunford Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    334
    Location:
    Wales
    They do seem to work in other DAWs, but it's still confusing as there's some i can't use in Reaper. For example, I can't use Retrologue as it says no license or eLicenser is installed. However, I can open up Cubase Pro 8.5 and use Retrologue in there without an issue.
     
  3. Bunford

    Bunford Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    334
    Location:
    Wales
    Rather frustratingly, Reaper has solved one of my issues too, as much as it's annoyed me :rofl:

    I wanted it to test the Liquid Mix under WIndows 10 64 bit, and who knew it works perfectly!!!!
     
  4. Wurlie Rocker

    Wurlie Rocker Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    103
    Every cloud has a silver lining, they say.
     
  5. tulamide

    tulamide Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    781
    Did you read the help so far regarding several versions of plugs? Make sure that Retrologue only exists once in the folders that Reaper scans, there might be a registered VST2 plug and an unregistered VST3 plug (or vice versa) of Retrologue.

    As everyone else in this thread, I also never experienced anything like it due to Reaper scanning the plugins. Using it for almost a decade. With so many people telling you that it won't be Reaper - shouldn't you start to believe it's something else?
     
  6. Bunford

    Bunford Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    334
    Location:
    Wales
    I don't know what it was. It seemed to be throwing tons of deauthorising and uninstalling messages when scanning plugins. However, upon closer inspection, it doesn't appear to actually have deauthorised and was more scaremongering me! :rofl:

    Not good though to have someone freak out like that. I know other DAWs scan on startup, but usually you load it up first time, tell it where the plugins are and it then scans or scans on the next startup. Just seemed odd that it seemed to scan my entire computer bydefault without the option of stopping it until I tell it where to scan for my plugins.

    Still, sorted now.
     
  7. trutzburg

    trutzburg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    10
    While I do not fully understand the reason for scanning every vst plugin, except that the vst dll's should be safe for running in the DAW, I must say that the process takes really a lot of time, varying from DAW to DAW. Reaper is not one of the fastest, but so isn't Ableton. I have 2300+ vst2 plugins, mostly freeware, that takes for a full rescan several hours with several crashes of the scanner sub system, on every DAW or vst host. I have only one DAW, which is rather old (2008), called Svar tracker, which did not scan the vst's in their folder (only their dll names), but opens vsts.

    It recently happened that some of my commercial vst's, the korg legacy collection, lost their licences, but they were running for a long time under Reaper. If I were suspicious, I would rather blame Ableton Live Lite, because I recently installed it anew twice.
    But I don`t, because I did install (and de-install) many other software, like FL Studio beta, which takes, by the way, also an incredible amount of time to scan my vst's, and I remember a small hardware change, I got a new battery on the Laptop, which could change the hardware checksum for those korg vst's.
    Furthermore, I tampered with some services, just to free some memory, and lost temporarly the AirMusic Hybrid license and the Cakewalk Rapture license, as I expected, I must say, but to point it out, things are often more complex than they look. It isn't impossible that the installation of a DAW (or any other software) could make a licence vanish, because most software manipulates the registry, but it's not very likely.
     
  8. subGENRE

    subGENRE Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,424
    Likes Received:
    1,423
    With the right skin, sws extensions, and reamenus, REAPER is a beast of a DAW
     
  9. Galactico_B

    Galactico_B Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    26
    Glad sorted.:wink: FYI Studio One did scan all my folders by default on first install too and threw up errors for unauthorised plugs..
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Decided Reaper mild Forum Date
Are you happy you decided to pursue music? Lounge Aug 2, 2017
I decided not to use any preset and just synthesize them for being original. Our Music Jan 14, 2017
Artificial, I'm so happy to have decided to put it an end! Our Music Nov 20, 2015
wife decided to leave me. Lounge Oct 26, 2013
Well, it's decided Lounge Jul 18, 2012
Loading...