DAW for Windows for both 32bit & 64bit VST

Discussion in 'DAW' started by platoon, May 25, 2020.

  1. platoon

    platoon Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi bros,

    I have just buy a PC Windows, I have both 32bit VSTs and 64bit VSTs, and I'd like to use them together (without using Jbridge, netvst, or adapters like that...).

    What DAW do you recommend to me, please?

    I was thinking about FL Studio: is it compatible both 32bit & 64bit VSTs (without any trick), please?

    Thank you all in advance, greetings, Platoon
     
  2.  
  3. Frantiac

    Frantiac Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Acoustica Mixcraft 9: https://acoustica.com/mixcraft

    The 64-bit install includes both 32-bit and 64-bit plugins which all work fine so you'll be OK
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  4. Olaf

    Olaf Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    98
    It cannot really work "without any trick". With some DAWs (like FL Studio or Cakewalk) it's possible to use 32 Bit plug-ins in a 64 Bit host without additional software, but they are still bridged internally. Image Line writes, it adds about 2% CPU load per plug-in:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  5. vsuper

    vsuper Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    9
    its time to move forward and work in pure 64 bit

    I worked for a long time in 32 bit, but when a lot of new plugs released only 64 bit i started move to 64 bit.
    I created vst64 folder and started gathering 64bit versions of plugs that i use. A lot of 32 plugs are discontinued, so i had to find 64bit analogs of my old favorites.

    now this process is over and i do all my new projects in 64bit, and still have old vst folder with 32bit plugs, and able to open old projects.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2020
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  6. DJK

    DJK Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    felixstowe england
    32bit is history move on........................
     
  7. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3,904
    Likes Received:
    2,718
    Location:
    Europe
    Which DAW? Simple answer: Reaper! It has a build-in bridge and is doing this automatically with 32bit and even DX plugins.
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  8. Mynock

    Mynock Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    944
    Acoustica Mixcraft 9, FL Studio, Cakewalk... but in my case, without a doubt:

    ╔═══╗╔═══╗╔═══╗╔═══╗╔═══╗╔═══╗
    ║╔═╗║║╔══╝║╔═╗║║╔═╗║║╔══╝║╔═╗║
    ║╚═╝║║╚══╗║║─║║║╚═╝║║╚══╗║╚═╝║
    ║╔╗╔╝║╔══╝║╚═╝║║╔══╝║╔══╝║╔╗╔╝
    ║║║╚╗║╚══╗║╔═╗║║║───║╚══╗║║║╚╗
    ╚╝╚═╝╚═══╝╚╝─╚╝╚╝───╚═══╝╚╝╚═╝
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2020
    • Like Like x 5
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  9. Piszpunta

    Piszpunta Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    28
    Reaper. It can bridge in both ways (32->64 and 64->32). No problems.
     
  10. Futurewine

    Futurewine Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    434
    Location:
    Sound City Labs
    R
    E
    A
    P
    E
    R

    it feels like..

    Oh Mickey, you're so fine
    You're so fine you blow my mind, hey Mickey,
    Hey Mickey




    #itstrue
     
  11. phloopy

    phloopy Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,165
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    Very interesting thread indeed - especially regarding the option of using both 32/64 bit plugins... completely new to me :like:

    Reaper is only 60 bucks and a lot of ppl seems to like it a lot, so............ why not :dunno::dunno:
     
  12. SimonD

    SimonD Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Bitwig... the Ableton killah
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  13. kingchubby

    kingchubby Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    109
    FL Studio will do the trick and free lifetime updates.
    Reaper is cheaper and has a very dedicated user base.

    Use the one that best suits your workflow.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  14. Psychoacoustic

    Psychoacoustic Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    63
    Agreed, I made the change over 10 years ago and never looked back.

    Use a bridger for the few obsolete 32bit plugins if you have to.

    As for the Reaper folk, it's fine if you want to pretend it's still 2007.
     
  15. demberto

    demberto Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Doesn't matter
    You are out of luck if you are trying to run anything 64bit if you have a 32-bit OS. DAW bridging won't work then. I use FL and I think it's one of the oldest ones to have such inbuilt bridge. In fact, even native plugins in FL don't load like they do in other DAWs, they get wrapped in a Fruity Wrapper, so some features appear to be broken. You can load even 64bit plugs in 32 bit FL and vice versa. Inbuilt bridging is gonna be better optimized than jBridge etc. that's obvious.
    However, try to use as less bridged VST3 as possible since a lot of its optimizations are not useful in non native modes like bypass processing etc.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  16. mafklapper

    mafklapper Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Renoise (-:
     
  17. johnw

    johnw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    19
    Reaper is the best . Loading every x32 plugin I throw in ....
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  18. Pule

    Pule Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    58
    REAPER!
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  19. gatus

    gatus Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    41
    Reaper!!! :wink:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  20. ProJay

    ProJay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    13
    Reaper : For an cheap option and portability and it's light but it has old looking GUI.
    FL : For clean looks, lifetime updates and damcing anime character while you produce.
     
  21. Infidel

    Infidel Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    125
    ACID Pro also has a built in bridge for using 32 and 64 bit plugins. Easy to use too.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Windows both 32bit Forum Date
Created both worlds(osx & windows)for a reasonable price! Mac / Hackintosh Oct 9, 2017
Can’t run Guitar Rig 2 on Windows 10 Software Thursday at 2:50 PM
Windows 10 ""Version 2004"" "ISSUE"with OBS Studio using Focusrite Scarlett Software Jun 25, 2020
Does Windows 10 have built in DVD player? PC Jun 24, 2020
Windows 10 - 2004 Update PC Jun 22, 2020
Loading...