Cubase 11 - Best DAW for now?

Discussion in 'Cubase / Nuendo' started by glassybrick, Nov 14, 2020.

  1. glassybrick

    glassybrick Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just installed new update, most of time i never install fresh version, but now... Everything works excellent, 2 days 24/7 studio PC is on, and it never crash or bug!

    Steinberg, WELL DONE! :like:
     
    • Funny x 5
    • Agree x 4
    • Interesting x 2
    • Like x 1
    • Winner x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. Karate Grownup

    Karate Grownup Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    49
    Nope.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2020
    • Agree x 19
    • Funny x 2
    • Like x 1
    • Dislike x 1
    • Disagree x 1
    • Winner x 1
    • List
  4. scarsstiches

    scarsstiches Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    59
    I'm not gonna get into this "who's best" thing. But i can tell you that i would be all over Cubase if it wasn't for the consistent +10 /+15 % CPU usage it adds compared to pretty much every other DAW i have (Reaper, S1 and Ableton).

    Makes me wonder if it's something to do with the way Cubase sends CPU readings/translations differently than other DAWs. But i doubt it.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 4
    • Like Like x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  5. hackerz4life

    hackerz4life Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2020
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Space
    Reaper surely is the most efficient DAW, but 15%? You must be doing something wrong.
    Also i would not include S1 as a better alternative regarding cpu consumption since it is pretty much the worst DAW in this regard.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  6. Hooman.Leys

    Hooman.Leys Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    130
    BS,
    I moved to S 1 :break:
     
    • Love it! x 3
    • Like x 2
    • Agree x 2
    • Disagree x 1
    • Useful x 1
    • List
  7. glassybrick

    glassybrick Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is strange, maybe something wrong with your OS settings
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  8. scarsstiches

    scarsstiches Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    59
    No i'm not doing anything wrong. Same exact project settings, same exact plugin(s), same exact latency, same exact everything without using any DAW native FX and Cubase is always 10% more.

    And yes S1 has always been efficient on my system. Almost as good as Reaper in fact!

    Nothing wrong with my OS settings. My system is smooth as butter, using NVme drive for my OS and 2 Samsung SSDs for everything else, 24 GB ram i7.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  9. homer_simpson

    homer_simpson Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Poland
    Keep going.....

    [​IMG]
     
    • Funny Funny x 11
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  10. Pipotron3000

    Pipotron3000 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    474
    • Disagree Disagree x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  11. Hooman.Leys

    Hooman.Leys Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    130
    Enjoy your new Scale Assistant feature then,
     
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  12. Pure Energy

    Pure Energy Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2020
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    60
    I broke down and bought the update I'm so sorry i disappointed the world i want to sell mine I have it on Kijiji Toronto i put a high price to make it worth it for me I'm so ashamed I'm going to sit in a corner and regret my impulse buy :( I paid for a keyboard scale a sampler update
    and a thing when i go into an editor I can see the top of the screen $150 Canadian dollars that's a gram of good blow :(
     
  13. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,249
    Likes Received:
    2,346
    Location:
    Europe
    True. It dependes a lot of the usage, number of plugins, CPU number of cores and so on but S1 is pretty fast (on Windows)
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  14. RitchieM

    RitchieM Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Near Liverpool
    really??? As stable as 10.5? Worth taking the chance on so soon?

    Ritchie
     
  15. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4,589
    Likes Received:
    3,225
    Location:
    Europe
    I find this pretty realistic.

    And to answer the question 'Best DAW for now?' v11 is maybe the best Cubase version, but the best DAW? It's a good one, no doubt, but the best? :no:
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  16. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    607
    You noticed that also. Around 10 to 15 percent that siting idle. Reaper at 0. I dumped cubase also for that reason.
    I have no clue as to what Cubase does when it's idle but chewing up cpu resources should not be one of them.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  17. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    607
    No mine has the same issue. Watch the Cubase resource meter when it's sitting there it's not zero.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  18. 990

    990 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    8
    I am on cubase 10.5 and never had any problems with cpu. I cannot say the same for s1. I like s1 better and the only reason thats keeping me from buying it is the bad cpu handling. On the other hand cubase doesnt properly terminate when I close the program. This happened to me many times. On 10.5.2. I think thats the latest 10.5 update.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  19. scarsstiches

    scarsstiches Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    59
    I'd like to do some brainstorming with you if you don't mind: Please turn off "Multi-Processing" in Cubase, watch your CPU and let me know what happens. Thanks!
     
  20. ReaperLover34345

    ReaperLover34345 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i see that you have issues with lots of things and always complaining you should of read the sticker on the box before purchase.
    [​IMG]
     
  21. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    607
    I think you have me confused with someone else.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Cubase Best Forum Date
Best software to use my MPK49 like an MPC in Cubase Working with Sound Apr 9, 2017
Cubase 7 - Sharing the Best Instrument Track vs Instrument Rack Tutorial I've Found Software Reviews and Tutorials Oct 1, 2014
Best way to export from Ableton to Cubase? Live Mar 9, 2013
Cubase 11 Audio fades not working Cubase / Nuendo Today at 12:29 AM
Flow Template for Cubase-Vienna-Lemur 25% OFF Software News Wednesday at 12:08 PM
Loading...