Cubase 10, Focusrite 616: big issues on recording

Discussion in 'Cubase / Nuendo' started by JudoLudo, Jan 4, 2019.

1. JudoLudo

JudoLudo Kapellmeister

hi there, I've a dramatic problem here.

I'm on Cubase 10, Windows 10 (I've been using Win10 since 2015), Focusrite 616 1st gen.

I've been using Cubase since years on my Acer Aspire V3-571G (i7-3632QM, 8GB RAM, SSD), never a problem. now I made a desktop build (Ryzen 5 2600X, 16GB RAM, with a WD Black NVMe which I installed OS, Cubase and VSTs on, while projects and libraries on a Crucial MX500), and I have terrible issues.

I'm on "excellent performance" power plan, 5/10 ms of latency on Focusrite software (been using 3ms on the laptop until now): I can't record an audio track. with Instruments tracks I got no problem, everything ok, but with audio... I hit record button and then after a few seconds it stops and gives me "drop out error". moreover, when I'm in play on Cubase (only listening to tracks), it often has dropouts (without error, but I can hear that artifacts and interruptions). I CAN'T RECORD ANYTHING AUDIO.

- tried without "multiprocessing" settings on Cubase
    - tried without ASIO Guard
    - tried with more ms on Focusrite software
    - tried to disable ethernet card
    - once I tried to record one (and also two) audio track, but with nothing connected to 616, i.e. not recording anything: no problems, no errors, no dropouts. I tried to recordo AT THE SAME TIME 4 instrument tracks (2 Keyscape, 1 Legend and another synth) and 2 audio tracks (without a jack connected in INPUT, so no signal coming into the project but still recording "silence"), no problem.

wtf I'm forgetting? I'm going maddddddddddddddddddd

3. Mousikanos

Mousikanos Guest

4. techdevil

techdevil Rock Star

Not an expert on AMD sorry, but run Latencymon for 20 mins and see if it picks up a problem. Might be a bad storage driver.