Cubase 10.5 continues copying Studio One:

Discussion in 'Cubase / Nuendo' started by metaller, Nov 16, 2019.

  1. metaller

    metaller Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    460
    Location:
    Persia
    Cubase 10.5 continues copying Studio One:
    Copying browser was not enough. they have copied object selection, importing tracks, colored mixer, and a bunch of other things.


     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2019
    • Funny Funny x 8
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. AudioGL

    AudioGL Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    22
    and macro :))
     
  4. korte1975

    korte1975 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Ireland
    thanks for reporting this atrocity Metaller ! :deep_facepalm:
     
    • Funny Funny x 5
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. Moonlight

    Moonlight Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    554
    Location:
    Earth
    and previously Studio One copied any DAW on earth :) eg colored mixer, track show hide (protools)... etc
    copmpetition is greart, hopefully StudioOne copies the color scheme form other DAWs. it only canget better

    whoa, so now Cubase no loger have this color gradient on regions but rather a flat color as S1 either ?
     
  6. Helter Skelter

    Helter Skelter Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    64
    "In 1992, Steinberg released Cubase Audio Mac, a computer-based digital audio recorder for the Mac that, like the Opcode products, also utilized Digidesign hardware. This was the first DAW to incorporate audio, MIDI, and scoring (music notation)."

    If you would remove the bits that Studio One has copied from Cubase, there would be nothing left except for a malfunctioning pile of stinkin' no good code.

    Also colored mixer... have you ever heard of Pro Tools?
     
    • Winner Winner x 11
    • Agree Agree x 7
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  7. LFO

    LFO Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    <20Hz
    Same for "smart tool". S1 wasn't first DAW with it. Pro Tools and Logic had it for ages. Also project/track import.

    Now if only S1 "copies" Cubase's Retrospective MIDI recording and built-in excellent channel editor EQ per track, and Logic's way of creating loops from regions it would be definitely no.1 DAW with best workflow.
    And who cares "who copied who" if we have great tools to work with. Competition is a good thing for end users.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  8. oldskoolproductions

    oldskoolproductions Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    48
    Can we not compare Cubase to Studio One.....
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  9. Tob

    Tob Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    67
    Wait you mean Studio one finally added features other Devs copy and stopped only copying from other daws? Well that news are worth a post ...
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  10. Von_Steyr

    Von_Steyr Guest

    Metaller, its time to finish home work, brush your teeth and roll yourself to sleep in your persian rug.
     
    • Funny Funny x 11
    • Like Like x 2
    • List
  11. Gyro Gearloose

    Gyro Gearloose Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    1,313
    Location:
    Germany
    nobody mention that one of the s1 main coder's was working for steinberg on cubase many years ?
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  12. Seckkksee

    Seckkksee Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ugghhh... Its moments like these that its best to concede and admit u had no idea what u were talking about. I'm no Cubase fanboy but damn, its literally like the king of DAWS. There's better, but before I squat on Cubase, imma at least get some history.
     
  13. retroboy

    retroboy Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    92
    Funnily enough the only reason I started using Studio One was because it was designed by some of the original Cubase team from the 90's and I'm an old Atari ST Cubase boy (and because I couldnt believe how awful Logic was after buying a Mac purely to run it oops!)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  14. techdevil

    techdevil Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    Scotland
    @metaller OMG have they copied VST as well....!
     
    • Funny Funny x 8
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  15. Perhaps they should copy bug fixing and support ethics.
     
    • Winner Winner x 5
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  16. yabiss

    yabiss Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    In my pants
    As usual, buy the update now or even better during a sale, do not redeem it and wait till the next version is released so you can have the 11 at half price using the grace period
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  17. Caldera

    Caldera Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    83
    So what???
     
  18. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    why not, let me get my popcorn ...
     
    • Funny Funny x 6
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  19. Klefths

    Klefths Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    11
    Αs a consumer i don't care at all if they all copy each other, as long as i get the best features in my sequencer, call it cubase, studio one, logic, Ableton, or protools.
     
  20. hansje

    hansje Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    8
    Honestly, I think Studio One is still more user friendly, looks better on high-DPI displays, and gets creative juices flowing more easily compared to Cubase 10.5.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  21. Moleman

    Moleman Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Springfield
    steinberg copied everything except stability
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 6
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Cubase continues copying Forum Date
Cubase Pro 10.5 for 5 bucks? Lounge Monday at 10:46 AM
Cubase Updates/Upgrades summer sale 40% Cubase / Nuendo Jul 1, 2020
Cubase Pro Whats the new ver going to be 11? Software Jun 29, 2020
Cubase and focusrite 1820 Thunderbolt 3 Heads UP Lounge Jun 27, 2020
Cubase Performance Meter Peak Cubase / Nuendo Jun 26, 2020
Loading...