Completely new to MAC - bought macbook pro m1 - need help

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by thwice, Dec 7, 2020.

  1. Iggy

    Iggy Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,078
    Likes Received:
    429
    That must've been very recent ... also, according to the site itself, it "kinda" runs on 64-bit macOS, but it seems like there's quite a few issues still involved (last time I upgraded Wine, about a year or so ago, it was definitely still 32-bit only). This probably explains why there's been some difficulty with keygens.

    Like I said above, I didn't know how such a thing would work with ARM processors. I do know that the only reason Bootcamp is a thing on Intel Macs is, well, they're basically just Intel PCs with an extra (Rosetta) chip.

    I don't have any problem with simple mods you can do with a screwdriver and a lot of patience, but anything that requires soldering or removing soldered items from the motherboard is where I throw up my hands and go "Nope, I'm out!" Which is a shame, because I honestly think it would be possible to upgrade the video cards, lid display and possibly even TB card on my MBP, which would definitely give it a longer relevancy (until Apple goes ARM-only with their OS, which the groundwork has already been laid for!).
     
  2. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,912
    Likes Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Europe
    Just to clarify a little, because this is actually confusing. Bootcamp is actually the official Macintosh hardware drivers for Windows along with an utility that basically sets up a dual-OS boot to make the installation easier. Kind of an official Hackintosh the opposite way.

    This was to attract Windows users to Mac when the hardware was quite similar, and those Bootcamp drivers relatively easy to develop.

    But now Apple have a brand new architecture they've invested a ton of money. The last thing they want is to make easier for the competence to learn about it. Let alone to install Windows since they're closing completely their ecosystem. The non-disclosure terms for the first developers probably are as huge mas it gets.

    That's why I think that, regardless the actual doability, they would only allow full-blown Virtual Machine software to run other OSes.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2020
  3. Iggy

    Iggy Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,078
    Likes Received:
    429
    As I already said, I wasn't really sure about how any of it would work with ARM processors (nor was that the point of what I was discussing). I've never actually used Bootcamp on any of my Macs ... unfortunately, I may be reduced to doing just that before too long, unless I just want to throw away my MBP or roll the dice on how long it will be before Mojave is completely antiquated and unusable. Essentially converting it to a Windoze computer is a better option than scrapping it.
     
  4. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,912
    Likes Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Europe
    BTW, seems 16 (fast) cores M1s are coming next year and 32 in 2022.
    That's how I understood it. Just giving some info now that sadly many people is in your position.
     
  5. Slavestate

    Slavestate Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    61
    Depending on the hardware inside and the Mac, some machines don't even need Bootcamp nowadays. I can install Win 8/10 on my 2010 Mac Pro just booting from the Windows DVD on its own. Bootcamp does have some benefits though. Not only will it collect all the appropriate drivers for the hardware and install them (the Bootcamp portion runs after the initial Windows install is finished and on the desktop), but it installs the Boot Camp Startup Disk control panel so you can switch back and forth from Mac to Windows same way you boot from another drive in MacOS. Without that, you have to hold option and pick your boot disk every time.

    I wouldn't trash that thing though. My 2010 Pro is basically a Win 10 machine now. All my Mac shit is done on my new Mini, and Ive got my Mac Pro running Win 10 with the Radeon RX570 I bought so I could run Mojave, so its like my low-rent gaming machine now. Your MacBook is newer than 2010 isn't it? Should be a decent Win10 machine dont trash it just yet!
     
  6. KungPaoFist

    KungPaoFist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    922
    Location:
    CA
    Bootcamp worked because of Macs using Intel, I wonder if PC's start using ARM if there might be some sort of Bootcamp element coming back. It would make more sense for Mac to keep users on a Mac using windows then to potentially lose them to a new PC.
     
  7. black bounty

    black bounty Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    paris
    that's actually the opposite : a girl uses cracked softwares because she had to buy a Mac

    ( sorry for this late GoT joke )
    wait ?! .. F*** it : not sorry
     
  8. Iggy

    Iggy Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,078
    Likes Received:
    429
    No, I'm definitely not gonna trash it. I figure I'll either break down and buy an ARM Mac (most likely, an Apple Sillicon iMac Pro, if that actually becomes a thing) and use this sucker as a Mac as long as I can before I have to roll it over to a Windoze computer, or I'll just finally give up on Apple, buy a souped-up PC for roughly half the cost of a Mac and then, just use this as a WIndoze laptop. It's sad that I have to look at it like that, as I've been using Macs for about 26 years now, but Apple has gotten pretty ridiculous (and reaaaaaally expensive).
     
  9. ProJay

    ProJay Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    India
    I've seen many people's(including my dumb friend) and students who buy mac and then they would use virtual machine and run windows and work there. And their reaction is that Mac is super great but running cracked software and apps are really hard.
     
  10. black bounty

    black bounty Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    paris
    from experience ( as a witness ) windows apps are much more easy to bypass than Apple's

    you've gotta understand that there's a lot of (justified) pride and competition between devs & crack teams,
    we've already lost a very good one with Cashmere ( there's no intention to launch a debate again when I say that, but her releases were flawless, never had an issue using them, the only time it happened was when someone else "stole" one of her release after she left, which was bombed with the intention to harm the sister site with a pretty basic trick )

    we miss really skilled Mac people, thankfully, there's still one of two of them out there, but Apple is giving them hard times, especially now that they produce their own chips, even well established developers are struggling to follow and it's gonna take 2 years at best for ARM users to adapt, so maybe buying their new product is not the best strategy, even if you plan to go legit on everything you'll use.

    my little pinky is telling me intel based Mac-users might have good releases this Christmas, but so far, I'm still wondering if it was my little pinky speaking or my d*ck :bleh::deep_facepalm::facepalm:
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  11. mapjay

    mapjay Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    16
    set all x64 bit app/plug stuff up in Mojave (don't bother with any x32 bit stuff, as it won't work in Catalina/Big Sur) on a mojave compatible mac machine (early/mid 2019 or earlier... no late 2019 anything or 16" MBP, of course). CCC it over to the new machine via target disk mode or CCC directly on new machine in new OS, to a new partition. Connect to Internet recovery, update Mojave system you just flashed to Catalina or Big Sur, by "reinstall mac os". Authorize plugs that need auth, with latest crossover. enjoy :)
     
  12. epochfunk

    epochfunk Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    Update the M1 to 11.1, Crossover will do the trick
     
  13. recycle

    recycle Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    782
    Location:
    motherboard
    The new macos came out yesterday: nothing that is not Apple certified works on it. None of the third party legit apps / plugins work on Big Sur, how can you think cracks work in there?
    That OS will be able to be useful for producers in 2022, maybe
     
  14. epochfunk

    epochfunk Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    Had the same issue with Ableton keygen on M1 as @thwice , updates to Rosetta 2 in 11.1 allow Crossover to do job
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2020
  15. noise.maker

    noise.maker Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    124
    If you want to buy new Macs and use for music, then be prepared to spend money buying stuff from their Appstore. It is simple like that.
     
  16. dashfiss

    dashfiss Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    55
    "Bought Mac - need help" :p And all the different versions of the OS which behaves differently and can only run specific things.. What makes people insane enough to buy an overpriced and inferior Mac? Just baffling :)
     
  17. Jorge Pablo

    Jorge Pablo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you did manage to install cracked Ableton on M1 Mac using latest Big Sur 11.1 and latest Crossover?
     
  18. shinbeth

    shinbeth Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    34
    I saw reviews online and on YouTube, the entry-level M1 13" scores better than the Intel i9 16" counterpart (and cooler temperatures as well).



    Check especially minute 14 with the Logic music production benchmark.

    Same result in this video with exporting, twice faster on the M1 and no heat:

     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2021
  19. Psyevil

    Psyevil Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can try Parallels Desktop, I think there is a beta for m1
     
Loading...
Loading...