Clean OS Install - WHAT do I need to backup and where, to keep my projects intact

Discussion in 'Studio One' started by Cav Emp, Dec 2, 2015.

  1. Cav Emp

    Cav Emp Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1,637
    So - long story short, I threw my money at Ableton when Push 2 came out. Turns out it's got compatibility problems with Windows 7. After a month of time consuming back-and-forth with support which was more beneficial to Ableton than it was to me, their latest (and seemingly final) suggestion is that I do a clean Windows 10 install.

    I think a little kicking and screaming may be in order, but in the unlikely event that I fail to bitch until they address the problem on their end (ahem... think years of PDC problems), I need to know how to make sure I don't lose my Studio One 3 projects. Countless hours of recording and mixing. I don't know Studio One's folder hierarchy well enough that I'm confident I can back my projects up properly. If I simply put the audio files back where they belong after the reformat, will it load everything correctly? (edit: and of course the project files themselves. and assuming the same VSTs are installed, etc.)

    I'm always bugging you guys for help. Just know it's very appreciated
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
  2.  
  3. beatroot

    beatroot Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    East
    How to back up your song files in StudioOne
    • You are re-installing the operating system and need to back up the files to an external hard drive.

    • You are transferring song files from one computer to another computer, either a colleague or simply another computer you have at a different location.


    You are re-installing the operating system and need to back up the files to an external hard drive.

    Your song files will be located in the folder indicated in Studio One under the menu option Studio One/Options(PC) or Preferences(Mac)/Locations/User Data

    [​IMG]

    In the above example, the songs are set to save to an external HDD, the D: drive in folder called "Songs".

    Now I can open that location on my computer and grab the top level "Songs" folder and copy the entire folder.

    [​IMG]

    Then open the external HDD you will be saving the file to. In my example, I am using a flash thumb drive, but any type of external hard drive will work.

    [​IMG]

    Now the entire SONG folder that contains the StudioOne songs will be backed up on the external HDD.

    If you will be restoring these song files onto the same computer after a OS update or reinstall, maybe a back up restoration perhaps. You can transfer the entire "Song" folder back into the file path on your computer that will be hosting your songs once StudioOne will be reinstalled. So just make sure the song folders reside in the file path listed in StudioOne's user Data Location file path.

    [​IMG]



    You are transferring song files from one computer to another computer, either a colleague or simply another computer you have at a different location.

    The steps will be similar, however perhaps you only need to send one song and not an entire list of songs. In this case, you can use the "Save to new folder" option in StudioOne.

    1. Open the Song in Studio One. Make sure your song plays and sounds correct. That is there is no audio missing.
    2. Go to "File" in the menu bar of Studio One and select "Save to New Folder..."
    3. Choose the destination for your song to be saved to. Perhaps a folder on your desktop.
    4. Click Save. This will create a new folder for this particular song and copy all media files it needs to that same folder.
    CAUTION: Making changes after doing this will edit the new copied version of the Studio One song, not the original.
    5. Go to the destination of that song on your hard drive and copy the entire folder to where you would like it to be stored.

    6. If using an FTP site, like Drop Box to transfer the file or if the file is small enough to email, you will likely need to zip the entire song folder that was saved to the new folder and FTP and/or email.
     
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  4. Cav Emp

    Cav Emp Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1,637
    As usual... help comes fast and thorough.

    I suspected that was pretty much the speed of it, but seeing as I'm really jittery about doing anything to my dozens (hundreds?) of hours of work, I needed a little reassurance. Thank you so much. Is there something I can do for you? I will seriously paypal $10 to you.
     
  5. wayne3

    wayne3 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    It may also be useful to copy/safe the folder that contains the program settings:

    WIN
    C:\Users\[YOUR PC]\AppData\Roaming\Presonus\Studio One 3

    Good luck!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  6. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,366
    Likes Received:
    208
    As already told you need 2 folders:

    -"Studio One" folder under Documents

    -"Presonus" folder under AppData\Roaming

    Everything will be stored in these 2 folders
     
Loading...
Loading...