Chord Progressions 101 (multiple questions)

Discussion in 'Education' started by Desantïs, Jan 26, 2016.

1. Desantïs

Desantïs Banned

As many people know by my questions I am a newbie here and want to thank everyone for the support with my very basic questions. I have been making remixes and tracks out of previously used chords and created my own melodies which have been very successful but at the same time it leaves me wanting more, wanting to create my own chord progressions and using more music theory in my productions. I have a good ear but lack the fundamental theory of chords so bear in mind while I ask some very 101 style questions. Please explain in VERY simplified/dumbed down terms like speaking to someone who's looking at a book for the first time (which I basically am, honestly I have read a bit but it's not clicking)

1) In chord progression I've read about stable chords vs unstable chords to create tension, I think there's a third one as well. I make Electronic music so I am thinking for the first breakdown I use 'stable' chords then I would use unstable during the build up? Or do I use the tension chords for that? Also what exactly is the difference between stable chords and unstable chords?! :( Do I basically use the type of chord for the part in which the song is at? That's what I am trying to get at. so first 16 bars would be stable next 8 bars on breakdown stable, then when the build up happens use unstable/tension chords?

2) My next question is lets say I have selected a key G Minor for instance. I go and look up chords for G minor and find one that sounds good. I play the chord.. Then where do I go next? Is this where the chart comes in such as vi-V-VI-V? I am assuming each of those roman numerals represent a specific chord progression? Does it matter which key this progression is or would I use this formula for any key?