Choose UPS for daw pc

Discussion in 'Studio' started by adrian, Dec 22, 2019.

1. adrian

adrian Ultrasonic

i needs help to choose UPS for my pc with power supply Seasonic Focus 80 Plus Gold ATX, Modular 750W (it's biggerer than pc consumes, for future upgrades, because now i assume a consumption between 200 and 400).
    UPS must be absolute silent line-interactive and should have pure sinewave, ....
    and no extra-large cost (between 200-400 €) ... what specific model and brand ???
    thanks for any suggestion

3. Infidel

Infidel Producer

Any you choose in that price range won't fit your wants but probably your needs. You'll need a line conditioner with that price range added to the UPS to get what you want. And they will both be towards the 400 euro price range to get it.

4. Ad Heesive

Ad Heesive Audiosexual

Disclaimer: I have zero expertise, but some experience, with UPS.

I have encountered many (in offices, etc) that claim to be 'quiet' but would have immediately pissed me off with being far too loud for a music context.

I found one of these (shown below) really cheap at an auction many years ago, and took a chance.
    It is "SILENT". It makes a noise during a one minute self-test on start up, and after that, it is then genuinely SILENT.
    I have since found two more going cheap at auctions and bought them without hesitation.
    In all three cases, I ended up paying less for the 'UPS + battery' than I would have paid for just a replacement battery.
    2nd hand, seems to be no problem, they have been totally reliable, only the batteries wear out (obviously).
    For two of them, I eventually (after several years) needed to buy new batteries, and eBay supplied them cheap enough.

[​IMG]

Spec: https://www.apc.com/shop/jm/en/products/APC-Smart-UPS-1500VA-USB-Serial-120V/P-SUA1500#

Note: I have absolutely no idea whether other models from APC are silent like this one.
    My comments are about this model ONLY.

5. adrian

adrian Ultrasonic