changing to another daw, need help

Discussion in 'DAW' started by El@d, Aug 14, 2016.

1. El@d

El@d Newbie

hi, I've been using FL for a few years and I'm getting pretty sick of it sometimes.
    which software would u recommend for a digital user - which one is friendly and easy to use?
    I was thinking about Reaper, Ableton, Sonar, Cakewalk - what are their pros and cons?

I know I'll have to try each of them probably anyway, but what do you think?.. ..thanks for the help Audioz

3. vanhaze

vanhaze Platinum Record

Go for Reaper, dig into it for about 1 year and you will never look back.

4. Burninstar

Burninstar Platinum Record

I use and love Reaper. It is my favorite. With that said, be advised that it does not come with many instruments or samples. There are many third party vsti that work as well as the ones included with FL I have even seen the fl instruments used in other DAWs.

Harrison mixbus32c sounds great and is a lot like former analogue studios operate.

5. Studio 555

Studio 555 Producer

From my personal point of view, there's two approaches with the DAWs available nowadays :

1. These that are derived from pioneer Programs like 'ACID',... , which allow the users to have a less 'professional' approach by the possibility to directly import 'Loops', 'Samples',... , then to organize the whole to make some Songs (e.g. 'Fruity Loops (FL)', 'Ableton',... ), even if you can, of course, record any audio source.

2. These that could seem more 'professional' DAWs in the sense that they replicate the 'real' world of Recording Studios, meaning that you get the Software Versions of any Mixing Desk(s) available through many professional Studios worlwide (e.g. 'Steinberg Cubase', 'Logic Pro', 'Reaper', 'Cakewalk Sonar',... ).

But nowadays, almost any DAWs available on the market can be seen as 'Professional', mainly due to all the Features/Options, Plugins, Third-Parties,... available.