Can Virtual Piano Help You Learn the Real One?

Discussion in 'Instruments' started by fridget11, Aug 25, 2018.

1. fridget11

fridget11 Newbie

Hi guys,

So for the past few months, I have gathered articles, blogs, and video tutorial on how a person can learn the keyboard on his/her own. But since we are living in a very modern word this catch my attention.

Can this virtual piano and mobile apps really help you to learn the real one? Any thoughts from the members of this forum?

3. as a self-taught myself i can confirm that the virtual ones, if played via a real keyboard, can do the trick

4. mono

mono Audiosexual

Hi i use Synthesia and an m-audio 88 and yep they will help you learn
    better and faster than you ever would on your own, if you use a keyboard with weighted keys
    this also helps alot and when you get a chance to play a real piano you will be surprised.
    In the long run they say its better to learn to read music cause you don't have to remember every tune
    of by heart but you can still learn and remember 100 of tunes in you head.
    The great thing about Synthesia or any programs is that you can learn at your own pace and time
    and your friends and family will be amazed ,i can still remember my first round of applause
    for playing
    Beethoven - Moonlight Sonata lol

Here are a few midi tunes to help get you started
    if you want to go down this road :wink:
    https://www89.zippyshare.com/v/hTsDiy14/file.html

5. Ziko

Ziko Guest

You can use the sound of a virtual piano but you will still need a real digital piano with a good action to control it via usb/midi

6. Polymetrix

Polymetrix Platinum Record

Closest thing you'll get is a 88-key-hammer-action masterkeyboard to control any given virtual one. Depending on the quality you get so close that you will notice the differences between real ones when you get to play them because the differences in terms of feeling can be quite extreme.