Can i build a studio in a tiny room?

Discussion in 'Studio' started by Mrkela, Oct 26, 2011.

1. Mrkela

Mrkela Newbie

Hi buddies im new in this, i need a help. I have only one room for making my studio and that room is 3x1.5m i was wondering is there any chance to make good acoustic,
    Thanx

3. ratox

ratox Noisemaker

not at all. that's way too small, it's a bathroom size. what you can do is to make a completely "dead" room out of it, as much absorbing as possible with zero reverb. That will be the best solution to avoid frequency response problems but you will find yourself risking too much additional artificial reverb because usually nobody listen to music in dead rooms so your mix will be likely to be biased in this sense. hope that helps.

Alessandro

4. Mrkela

Mrkela Newbie

Thanks buddy u help me but disapoint me.

5. BumBataa

BumBataa Newbie

well you can, why not? won't be easy and results won't be that good but: treat room, treat again...get behringer ecm 8000, software, measure...treat again, measure.
    Of course a bigger room is way better, and to make it pretty dead is also a viable option (with the problems posted above)..problem is when you music gets louder the waves will start to bounce in that room big time.
    what do you wanna do there anyway? record your guitar, vocals, mix? all of it??

6. lysergyk

lysergyk Kapellmeister

I guess in your case, you'll be much better off getting a good pair of cans and a VST simulating a perfect room (you have isone from tonebooster or Jeroen Breebaart Isone Pro (it's an old 32bits version) or 112 db redline monitor...

it works with any pair of headphones and should help you a lot in monitoring/mixing your work..as said above the best you'll get from your room is to turn it into a "dead" room...

7. Mrkela

Mrkela Newbie

I would composing and mixing electronic music in that room, everything in the box. I have litle KRK rokit5 and sennheiser hd 25.
    Thanx for ur help buddies!

8. hoffy