build vs buy

Discussion in 'PC' started by Eno, May 11, 2023.

1. Eno

Eno Newbie

i dont know how to build pc. very minimal knowledge about quality parts. just know what you guys have said in recent posts which is different per user opinion. will i save on learning to and build my own vs going through one of the companies online like falcon or audiolabs. those are two ive found. even willing to have someone here help me. i dont run crazy programs. protools, acidpro, and jusrt started messing around wuth kontakt. no midi instruments but i plan to use in future. i want a pc i wont have to upgrade for awhile. i had a stonewave productions pc i bought in 2010-11 and its been a nightmare past year to where i dont even use it. im just a serious hobbyist. vocal recordings, minimal instruments, and digital audio minimal video
    production.

3. surely

surely Kapellmeister

Hey there friend,

I would definitely recommend building. All of the extra money you would have paid to a company to built it, you can put into buying a much more powerful computer. There is a website called PC Part Picker which basically does all of the hard work for you. You can create your build on that site and it will check cross compatibility of all of the components and tell you if they will work together. Putting the PC together when it arrives might take a few hours max, it truly isn't as difficult as it sounds. Anything you get stuck on you can instantly Google.

If money isn't really a problem for you then you can buy a pre build, and it will be a lot easier initially. It's really gonna come down to your financial situation. If you're not in a great spot with money I highly recommend building.

4. Eno

Eno Newbie

realistically how much will i save. and what should my budget be for a good setup? $1500?

5. Zenarcist

Zenarcist Audiosexual