Buffer (Optimal) Settings?

Discussion in 'Samplitude' started by Johnny Blade, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everybody!

    So, I have bought the newest T-Racks 5 and I have experienced a subtle delay in the response of its VST plugins.

    Could someone please tell me the best possible configuration to avoid this problem in Samplitude?

    For example, is VIP object buffer 1024 better/faster than 4096?

    Is there some Buffer "OPTIMAL SETTINGS" for Samplitude in this case?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2.  
  3. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Best Answer
    Yes it is. But faster means more work for your CPU.

    But, you need to check T-Racks 5 configuration as , depending of your computer and sound card, the delay may be caused by your computer limitations, and or your soundcard drivers.
     
  4. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Olymoon, thank you very much!
     
  5. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Unfortunately I don't use Samplitude anymore, so I cant help much more. But I think that, if you are not using this vst in real time, just push the buffer instead of shrinking it. You will have more delay compared to live/direct recording, but as the buffer is bigger, every thing should be able to synchronize more easily, as there will be more time to your CPU for calculation.

    if you could mention your system and soundcard, it would be good, so we can have precise idea of the situation.
     
  6. Jeen

    Jeen Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    116
    @Johnny Blade
    The sample rate of your project is also influing with the CPU , More sample rate , more CPU....:winker:
     
  7. rickbarratt

    rickbarratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    it's better to use a lower sample rate when recording (when working with midi) this is less intense for your cpu.

    if you use a lower sample rate when recording audio such as vocals, guitar etc the quality of the actual recording becomes affected due to their not being a proper representation.

    Sample rate is basically how fast "captures" of the recording are taken with a higher sample rate you will have better audio quality and less drops, and of course the opposite for a lower sample rate.
     
  8. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, everybody, thanks a lot for the inputs!!! I use Windows 10 Pro x64 and Samplitude for Mastering purposes only! :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2017
  9. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    So, if you are using it for mastering, you dont mind about the pre-delay, but you probably mind about the sampling rate.
    In samplitude and in your soundcard driver, put a higher buffer. You should get rid of this delay.
     
  10. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Higher buffer doesn't work... I've got more delay... Lower works better here. :wink:
     
  11. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,116
    Likes Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Sweden
    Invest in RME, Universal Audio, Apogee, or equivalent. They are dedicated pro audio interfaces.
    Don't go with Soundblaster (consumer). :)
     
  13. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, man!!!!!
     
  14. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    1,978
    Creative sound cards are not good for musicians. There are a lot of better options even in the cheap market. Baxter told you the expansive very good ones, but if you are on a budget, you can use Focusrite, Steinberg, PreSOnus, and even M Audio recent interfaces, (as M Audio is not anymore part of Avid now they have decent drivers)

    When buying an Audio Interface, think about your actual needs, then a little bit more.
    So If you need 2 inputs today, you probably will need 4 tomorrow. :guru:
     
  15. Johnny Blade

    Johnny Blade Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you!!!! :wink:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Buffer (Optimal) Settings Forum Date
How to reduce Ample Sound's RAM buffer size (Kontakt's style) Samplers, Synthesizers Aug 2, 2020
Anyone use ECC and buffered RAM? Computer Hardware Feb 1, 2017
Need help - Buffer problems Win 7 x64/Live and S1 v3 DAW Jul 24, 2016
Studio One crackling/stuttering (not buffer issue) Studio One Sep 25, 2015
For 2i2 owners getting "lost asio buffers" in samplitudeProX2 Samplitude Aug 15, 2015
Loading...