Bitwig?

Discussion in 'DAW' started by FellIVTheFake, Apr 9, 2015.

1. FellIVTheFake

FellIVTheFake Noisemaker

ive been using ableton for three years now, im pretty fluent with it now, but bitwig at face value at least looks so much better. does anyone use it as there main DAW? is it worth buying over ableton? :break:

3. Lapsa

Lapsa Newbie

similar story here. used ableton, purchased Bitwig and I don't regret it.

there are few ridiculous pitfalls (that i don't really care that much about) like nonexistence of MIDI export and signature changes.

one that did hurt me was nonexistence of multi channel output - but they already added it.

can't recall all the upsides. in short - it's ableton with better foundations like sane plugin processing (ableton's lack of 64bit vst support kind a seems like a joke. but then again - bitwig has no vst3 support (forthcoming feature)) that doesn't look like Microsoft Excel.

4. d32r

d32r Member

Bitwig is a pretty solid daw and it has heaps of potential. Its actually VERY similar to Ableton but has the capabilities of MAX 4 Live built in. I found it quite intuative and fast to use but I foud the GUI a little too crammed for my liking. The fact that it had proper PDC was a big deal but Ableton have fixed that issue in their latest beta's too. If anything It has caused ableton to up their game and fix and add things their customers have been asking for.

To answer your question....there is nothing crucial you can do in Bitwig that you cant with Live.

I recently moved form Live to Cubase Pro 8. I still have a lot of Love for Ableton but I HATED the arrange page. Cubase 8 is an absolute powerhouse.

5. Pipotron3000

Pipotron3000 Audiosexual

There is Sensomusic Usine, as live gig alternative, with M4L like features (and a lot more) included by default :wink:
    The best DAW ever in this domain...and no one cares :dunno:

About arrangement view, yeah...it sucks in Ableton. Like piano roll.