Best Logic Alternative?

Discussion in 'DAW' started by dvvdv, Aug 17, 2019.

  1. dvvdv

    dvvdv Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    smoker's lounge
    Ok, so I re-installed Logic and it no longer works anymore, when opening a project, or anything really, these areas are not showing up: https://i.imgur.com/o48ifA0.png
    Also, it refuses to stay open and crashes every time I try to use it. Same issues with GarageBand, unfortunately.
    So here I am asking y'all as to what is the best alternative to Logic? Anything similar (or better) will do really. All suggestions are welcome! Thanks.
     
  2.  
  3. NeverenoghFun

    NeverenoghFun Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Suburbs of Minnesot
    I just cant see one...
    I just started using logic my self about 2 months ago.
    Ive used it all Cubase, Sonar, Acid Pro, Pro Tools, You name it.
    Logic is just very well thought out.

    My 2nd favorite and my 1st choice if i had to use pc though is Studio one
    fantastic program as well, very well thought out.


    Why isn't your Logic Working?
    PM Me we'll see if we cant get you sorted out.
     
  4. Exidus

    Exidus Rock Star

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    344
    Religion would be pretty high on my list :rofl:

    But on a more serious note: you could give Reaper a try. There is a very nice theme emulating Logic appearance and to some degree - workflow, developed by a Reaper forum member.
     
  5. sir jack spratsky

    sir jack spratsky Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    102
    no brainer....studio one rules the roost nowadays.....logic is old hi hat
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  6. vaiman

    vaiman Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    202
    There's nothing better on Mac than Logic, that's just a reality.

    Anyway, did this happen after a recent install?
    Probably a recent plugin that is crashing Logic. Disable them under Plugin-Manager.
    Delete Logic preference files
    As with Windows, try adding another user account. log in with that and see if the issue happens
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  7. vaiman

    vaiman Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    202
  8. NeverenoghFun

    NeverenoghFun Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Suburbs of Minnesot
    Studio one and Magic mouse are worst enemies sadly. The faders getting nudge so mutch forced me to switch
    But I gotta say.. Logic has some stuff studio one isnt thinking about yet.. and the integration with NI stuff is nice.
     
  9. A Ghost On The Moon

    A Ghost On The Moon Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Florida
    I would recommend reaper if you're willing to customize some stuff, I think the community has released a logic skin for it
    EDIT: I found a video where someone goes in depth in how to make reaper act like logic
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  10. NeverenoghFun

    NeverenoghFun Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    177
    Location:
    Suburbs of Minnesot
    Thats pretty neat!
    I dont think i gave Reaper a long enough chance when i did try. i hear tons of great things about it though.

    I do wonder why OP wants to change logic. he said version isnt working.. if thats the only reason i'd love to help him out lol
    I really fell in love with Logic. 9 Years Cubase, 4 Years Studio One, Now Logic ;P

    Cubase midi mapping so gat damn good....
     
  11. A Ghost On The Moon

    A Ghost On The Moon Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Florida

    Reaper has amazing midi capabilities
     
  12. Tob

    Tob Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    44
    Studio one...

    You will feel home right away.
     
  13. xbitz

    xbitz Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    342
    have u tried to reset/trashing out your pref file?

    - https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT200260
     
  14. fritzm

    fritzm Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Europa
    You have a corrupted preference file somewhere. Or, like mentioned earlier, a plugin is causing the issue. I was a genius and worked for Apple for 4 years. This would would be my recommendation.
     
  15. Moonlight

    Moonlight Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Earth
    Studio Ones GUI is so slow on macOS. Especially when the Project gets bigger it gets even worse.
    A funny thing is that the StudioOne GUI is faster in a Parallels VM than native under macos ...
     
  16. sir jack spratsky

    sir jack spratsky Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    102
    um ahh yeah macos............windows 10 studio one flys
     
  17. sir jack spratsky

    sir jack spratsky Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    102
    um ahh yeah macos............windows 10 studio one flys
     
  18. Plendix

    Plendix Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    96
    Interesting approach.
    Why not switch over to Open BSD next time your network connection has issues.
    Did you start this thread as a serious question or have you had your popcorn ready when starting it
     
  19. fiction

    fiction Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    436
    Hehe, that was my first thought when I've read the OP.
    I don't see anything comparable as Logic is not only about the DAW part but also about the many great instruments and samples included. For the DAW alone, Reaper is a capable but not plug-and-play alternative.
    People nowadays often tend to avoid spending time configuring and tweaking stuff. See OP.
     
  20. Moonlight

    Moonlight Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,572
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Earth
    indeed, but then you have to deal with that freaking windows.
     
  21. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    530
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    Reaper,
    only problem is lack of virtual instruments, but I assume you already have nice set of third-party stuff and Kontakt libraries anyway;
    recent versions of Studio One are okay too, and FL Studio now being available on Mac is probably worth a try too
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Best Logic Alternative Forum Date
Best Course for Logic Pro X? Logic Jun 22, 2018
Bouncing in Logic - what's the best way? Software Sep 26, 2016
Reinstalled Logic 5. Best book on environment.. Logic Sep 11, 2012
Correct or the best string action for jazz bass. Bass Guitars Jan 18, 2020
I have 10,054 808 wav/VST’s. Which one is best? Software Jan 16, 2020
Loading...