Been away a few months and looking for latest Kontakt position

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by Bunford, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. Bunford

    Bunford Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    525
    I went away from making music for a few months as I had a new job and some other stuff in my life. However, now getting back to it. When I was last dabbling it was when Native Instruments brought out the update that prevented the add library function from working properly.

    What's the latest on Kontakt now? Has that been fixed? And what's the best latest version to move onto?

    Cheers all! :wink:
     
  2. Aileron

    Aileron Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    482
    Location:
    Merseyside
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. famouslut

    famouslut Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    754
    Yeah, prolly the Auditor 573 version for win, too. Make sure ya grab the "fixed" version, so the add library (well it's called "manage libraries" nao) works. I mean tis much of a muchness, rly, last few symlink versions seem to work ok too. Welcome to the new juice: adding a directory & it auto adding all the libraries in there, too! Tis great! Kinda what Kontakt should've been from the start, rly...
     
  4. rudolph

    rudolph Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    397
    You can try also 570 Portable. No installation and works perfect.
     
  5. reliefsan

    reliefsan Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    825
  6. famouslut

    famouslut Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    754
    Heh. Ima just done something for the audioz jazz thing. It has Hammond and Piano. Also sax. No rhodes. Sounds a bit more like other jazz thing, rly. I dunno if ya listened to that? Goes a bit random:



    I'll PM it to ya? Gimmie a sec...
     
  7. Matt777

    Matt777 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    408
    @famouslut ..really like your piano sound. the one for the album was just aaahh.. (and this is on spot for what it should be)
    would you care to share, what your fav pnos are (hammersm.., ..?), how do you treat them (if, at all) ..by now it's obvious I want to steal your sound,, lol. kidding! will make my own. promise. just give me something ,)
     
  8. famouslut

    famouslut Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    754
    Most of the time (80%) I use Hammersmith. I kinda hate how the sus pedal works rly, tho (on/off)= It's kinda untreated, rly. No eq, for most part. Never compressed etcs. I just have to play better! Just (setup) gotta "work" w/ it until velocity curve "responds" properly to ur inputs, main thing. I use Altiverb. No other fx rly. Maybe Echoboy smtm? I also <3 Pianoteq, but the attack isn't quite as good and overtones not as nice as Hammersmith. I'd use that (pt) all the time if twas lil bit closer, cos all the things it does much better (almost everything else!)

    On that ^ track, i think (?) i used Piano In Blue. I couldn't believe it (!) either when I loaded project. PIB is noisy & bit crap, but it was ok for the time! I'd use Hammersmith nao, tho. Prolly. Kinda use it for everything, not liek it's a secret!
     
  9. Matt777

    Matt777 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    408
    @Bunford
    apologies for the thread hijack - I'd go for 573 (check the date, there was a fix - it has "WORKING" tag I think), just like the guys said. The only thing I'm not sure about is the situation w/ self-custom-made libs, because I don't use them. I have one though - no problems.
    And welcome back! :wink:

    @famouslut
    Funny - the Piano in Blue.. that one has something. I made a thing with PIB and some strings and simply couldn't replace it with any other. I was really close buying it (started using it more.. and the 2.2 update never showed up afaik). But then.. it is a one trick pony, more of a sound design tool.. so I'm ok with the version floating around. I didn't completely fell in love with Hammersmith (yet!). Have to spend some more time with it. Playing better, mandatory, always.. I'd need a really good keyboard too.
     
  10. Bunford

    Bunford Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    525
    Just tried to install the "working" auditor 5.7.3 version and I get this:

    upload_2018-1-30_22-12-47.png

    Any ideas? Does this mean I have to uninstall it before installing this version? And if so, any way to do it without losing all the tweaks I've done in settings or the libraries added and the order etc?
     
  11. Funk U

    Funk U Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    163
    I keep getting this error when I try to install the same version of Kontakt it's very perplexing. kontakt error.jpg
     
  12. Philby

    Philby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    10
    i use 5.7.3 portable (yes 5.7.3) and no problems. best Kontakt yet!
     
  13. famouslut

    famouslut Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    754
    It might be worthwhile trying to c/p the crack .dll from auditor dir (keep your original x64 Kontakt somewhere) & see if that works? Or maybe dl one of the symlink versions, I think the "manage library" works better on that, anyway? The symlink ones recreate a virtual Kontakt folder structure & ya just c/p stuff from existing install.

    I think that's a (familiar) bug. I ran into it w/ earlier Kontakt install too. I c/r if there was a clean tool or something, or whether it will (prolly) require deleting some keys from registry. Think there was another topic about it on here? Guess you can try to fudge around it (see above). But backup if I were you, first.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2018
  14. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    2,487
    Location:
    Where the sun doesn't shine.
    I got the same [well not exactly, obviously] message when installing R2R's Battery 4 v4.1.6 over 4.1.5 and since I deleted the stupid space wasting msi install files I couldn't uninstall the older version and install the new one [I didn't care about preserving the settings]. So I...

    ...tried deleting Battery dlls and registry entries... no go
    ...tried deleting everything related to Battery in my user folder and anywhere else... no go

    So I figured the installation must be looking at some MSI entries somewhere. But where? I looked into my Windows/Installer folder and couldn't find anything related to Battery. Weird. It's probably somewhere in the registry where it checks it.

    To cut the long story short, I put everything back as it was and updated Battery completely manually from the "offline" installation folder. File by file. It absolutely worked but it took me at least half an hour. PITA

    I suggest you to try updating the files manually from the "offline" installation folder. That's the only way to preserve the old settings as this stupid installation doesn't do update. :sad: Or maybe post the solution? :wink:

    Oh, I almost forgot: I had to re-register Battery, so you will probably have to do it for Kontakt, too. The easiest way is to run the keygen and copy serial, ID and activation numbers into the registry under HKLM/software/Native Instruments/Kontakt [or Battery in my case]

    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
Loading...
Loading...