BAE 1073MP vs BAE 1073

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by Aya, Jun 1, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Aya

Aya Member

Hello.

First of all, I'm not good at English. so please understand my poor grammar :)

I'm going to buy a 1073 style preamp for male vocal, guitar and bass.

I don't need to find the closest sound to the original vintage 1073. I think it is best to fit my taste.

So I googled many forum posts and YouTube videos for sound comparison. And I found that BAE and AMS products seems good to me.

There are many comparison posts or shootouts about AMS vs BAE but I could find little about BAE 1073MP vs BAE 1073.

I've heard that BAE 1073MP actually is a modified 1272, not a clone of 1073 because BAE 1073MP has only two gain stages like 1272 whereas the original 1073 has three gain stages(Therefore, unlike the original 1073, BAE 1073MP has only a gain range of 71dB.).

But People say that BAE 1073(not 1073MP model, just BAE 1073, with EQ)is a real clone of 1073 with three gain stages and 80dB gain range.

So, I presume that there is a difference in terms of sound between BAE 1073MP and BAE 1073(Even when you have EQs are all 0). What do you think?

BAE 1073 is twice as expensive as BAE 1073MP. and I prefer software EQ plugins than hardware EQs when recording . so I have no need to pay twice much cost if there is no or little sound difference between 1073MP and 1073 when EQs are all 0.

But regardless of the EQ(I mean all EQs are 0), if BAE 1073 has definitely more good aspect in sound than 1073MP, I will seriously consider to buy BAE 1073.

Could you share any information or experience about this matter with me? I really curious about the sound difference between them.

Thanks in advance :)

Last edited: Jun 1, 2017
  3. mercurysoto

mercurysoto Audiosexual

The bottom of the rabbit hole, next to Alice's