Autotune (S.O.S. Help needed)

Discussion in 'Software' started by ElMoreno, Jun 29, 2019.

  1. ElMoreno

    ElMoreno Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gently audio friends,

    despite all many effort I can’t set a decent Autotune effect, not even using the same set of this video (or others similar).



    In the video, as you can hear, the Autotune effect is beautiful, fat, full… but when I select on my Autotune the same set that the video my voice is always ‘light’, as if the effect didn't work.

    Someone can tell me why?

    Here what I do: On Mac Sierra I open Logic ProX, I put a vocal track on an audio track and in Audio FX I open Autotune. That’s all but it's not as fantastic as in the video.

    Maybe I make something wrong? I have to do something else?

    Many thanks for help.

    P.S.: Oh… I don’t use the ilok SIP crack method but the other method: ilok folder in Applications.
     
  2.  
  3. boomoperator

    boomoperator Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    118
    Probably you're direct monitoring and software monitoring at the same time.
    (Or you have a voice that even Autotune can't fix..:dont:)

     
  4. ElMoreno

    ElMoreno Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    11
    > boomoperator
    Thanks for infos...

    Oh oh... my Software Monitoring in Audio Preference is enabled but GREY... (so, NOT modifiable, in no way). :unsure:
    Maybe because I'm using the Internal Audio Mac and NOT an audio card?
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2019
  5. Blue

    Blue Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    France
    It's a subjective statement...Personnally I don't find this effect beautiful at all.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  6. Mykal

    Mykal AudioP2P

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    I'm Right Behind You
    Autotune is not the problem, your voice is
     
  7. rhythmatist

    rhythmatist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    676
    Location:
    Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
    melodyne 4 is my favorite editer for pitch and rhythm
     
  8. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    238
    Have you tested out Izotope Nectar 3?
     
  9. recycle

    recycle Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    motherboard
    if your goal is just to fix a singer sligthly out of tune I advise you to use melodyne: the results will be much more realistic.
    If instead, you are trying to acheive that “T-pain” effect, autotune is the way to go: you just need to sing your verse mononote, then apply the midi melody on autotune. The plugin doesnt work when the singer is exactly in tune with the midi file you feed to the plugin.
    The more the note of the singer differs from the desired one, the more the voice will be "grainy”. What I've noticed is that the autotune effect works only on the formant of the voice: the vowels, consonants are not considered (same behavior as the vocoder).
    If your plan is to sing "T-pain" style, try to avoid grunts and throat voices, open the vowels a lot, a bit like opera singers do
     
  10. ElMoreno

    ElMoreno Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks friends...
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  11. jhagen

    jhagen Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    55
    Try to inhale some helium gas before putting an hot pepper straight in @ss, then sing through a simple vocoder and voila you have the latest Trap Autotune fx.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  12. boomoperator

    boomoperator Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    118
    Not being able to software monitor is strange. I searched for that error, couldn't find any. Maybe select (or deselect) recording before you try to change that menu setting, or switch on/off low latency monitoring?
    It shouldn't have to do with no external audiointerface.. But I'm no Logic user, maybe other users can chime with helpful knowledge..
     
  13. ElMoreno

    ElMoreno Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    11
    Dear friends, thanks for your helpful attention. :wink:

    My goal is not to correct the pitch of the vocal tone (Melodyne could do that job) but GET the effect used by rapper/trapper/hihoper (T-Pain for example). :winker:
    From what i understand looking around is that many users talk about Autotune but few really know how to use it.
    And those few don't clearly say their 'secrets' of use. :unsure:


    > recycle
    Yes, my goal is “T-Pain" style. What about how to use the midi file with voice?


    It seems that someone has written a PDF book on how to use Autotune. Does anyone own it?
    To all: Any practical, simple, clear example ... is welcome:mates:
     
  14. ElMoreno

    ElMoreno Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks, I will try...

    EDIT: Unfortunely nothing change... :dunno:
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  15. Warped Effect

    Warped Effect Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    The trick to getting the T-Pain AutoTune effect is to set the retune speed to 0, tracking to 100, key & scale to C Major, and use a Equalizer or Saturation plugin at the same time as Antares AutoTune.

    I suggest to use Infected Mushroom Manipulator for MIDI to Voice, it sounds better than Antares AutoTune's MIDI to Voice.

    Watch this video, it's an example of Infected Mushroom Manipulator MIDI to Voice, it starts at 3 minutes & 36 seconds.

     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  16. ElMoreno

    ElMoreno Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    11
    Here there's my test file: https://workupload.com/file/FhbmHzAk
    Is nothing, just some silly words but in this way I will be sure if my Autotune WORK or NOT WORK on my iMac with Sierra.

    Please try to Autotunified it for me. :yes:

    It's just because all this thing is very strange...
    In all videos I see around the vox work easily and when I open my vocal track the effect is thin, almost non-existent!!! :snuffy:

    And don’t forget that I don’t use the ilok SIP crack method but the other method: ilok folder (with libstXX++.6.0.9 inside) in Applications!
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  17. Warped Effect

    Warped Effect Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    Here's your voice recording with 3 different methods, enjoy lol.

    AutoTune 5 standalone
    https://workupload.com/file/ErZNqt8p

    AutoTune 5 + Enhancer Plugin
    https://workupload.com/file/WtwH3N2B

    Infected Mushroom Manipulator + Vanessa Carlton - A Thousand Miles MIDI File
    https://workupload.com/file/72RyCP6R
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2019
  18. recycle

    recycle Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    260
    Location:
    motherboard
    ok I tried to autotune your voice and this is the result
    https://picosong.com/wNDmm
    first of all you need to improve the quality of the recording: you need a better microphone and an acoustic treatment for your booth
    As I advised in the previous post, your voice must be more present than this, it must come from the chest, not from throat: the plugin works better with a clear formant
     
  19. Kwissbeats

    Kwissbeats Rock Star

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    493
    actually, the best starting point for tracking is 67, retune speed indeed should be 0, because the knob itself sucks

    But instead, it's better to get one of the newer auto-tune versions as presented in the OP which got a flex pitch knob (stolen from logic probably?)
    which is prone to get better results then the good old retune knob, which usually wielded not that great results, especially on rap vocals instead of singing.

    I would not be that concerned on solo'd results, the Fundamental frequency of your voice is most possible the culprit.
    In practice, this isn't of great concern. instead, mixing and being in the right key is more importand.

    (no joke, I think 90% of mixing on other people their work is pitch correcting, parts of the song are not one coherent key, but are intended that way. mostly bass releated but arround 33% of recorded vocals arrives here recorded in the wrong key:suicide:)
     
  20. Kwissbeats

    Kwissbeats Rock Star

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    493
    well yes, but only if you're after pseudo-realism.

    I prefer auto tune above all to secretly tune the doubles/backings, and use them as reverb for the lead instead of throwing them out.
     
  21. Warped Effect

    Warped Effect Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    7
    I rarely use Antares AutoTune, I prefer to use Waves Tune Real-Time with Speed and Note Transition set to 0.1, Tolerance Time set to 100, Correction set to 100%, and Formant set to Not Corrected.

    Those settings make Waves Tune Real-Time have a more crazy AutoTune effect than Antares AutoTune.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Autotune Help needed) Forum Date
HELP! How Do I Get AutoTune 8 VST in Pro Tools 12 Pro Tools Aug 2, 2019
Guy singing Autotune live without Autotune Lounge Dec 20, 2018
Audio Topia Pro Tools 12 & Autotune Software Sep 7, 2018
Autotune for MAC High Sierra Mac / Hackintosh Mar 18, 2018
Autotune Realtime UA or Autotune 8.1 Software Aug 5, 2017
Loading...