Automatically split Plugins by vendor's name?

Discussion in 'FL Studio' started by MrLyannMusic, Mar 17, 2019.

  1. MrLyannMusic

    MrLyannMusic Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    Tunis, Tunisia
    As the title suggest, is there a way or a script to Split plugin List by Vendor's name in Fl Studio ?

    i have already done this manually, but it is really a long and exhausting procedures, not to mention boring.


    [​IMG]
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. r4e

    r4e Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    402
    Hehe, I'm sorting it the same way.
    Unfortunately, as far as I know, there is no easy way to do it but manually renaming the plugins and putting em into folders.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  4. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Location:
    Ocean
    As noted by @r4e it has to be done manually. The process certainly can be automated but it needs to be a team work.It would take 25-40 thousand lines lines of C# source code and we are not even talking about the several thousand needed for the GUI definition files. All of that only to have FL Studio put a clamp on it. It needs to be a team work
    At one point, I used to categorize them by vendor but with hundreds of plugins you keep asking yourself: what is x plugin? What hardware does it emulate? So I decided to group them by category AND more specifically by the hardware they emulate whenever applicable.It is tedious work but this method has given me vast knowledge, and more importantly it helps my workflow tremendously. It is easier to learn and memorize that the Urei 1176 LN makes the drums sound punchy, and adds a bright character to a sound, than trying to memorize what plugins A,B,C and D do. More so when the plugin's name doesn't even resemble or hints to the hardware it emulates. I have enclosed some files as example. I do it for effects as well as generators. If anyone wants me to share the files, send me a PM.
    Plugin Management 1.jpg
    Plugin Management 2.jpg Plugin Management 3.jpg Plugin Management 4.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2019
    • Like Like x 3
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  5. r4e

    r4e Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    402
    That much C# code for what? For a sorting tool? Otherwise I can't see the reason for that ammount.

    I mean it would be a nice idea to have such a tool around, like a plugin database manager
    that knows all the features of a plugin and sorts em by category or what ever. Would be also nice
    to be able to scan the current database and then manage everything automatically, based on
    an incoded feature list. Another Idea would be to backup and restore that database
    to be able to have the same plugin lists on several machines.

    Therefore I once made a little script that worked until FL 20 but then became obsolete
    because of the displacement of the plugin database into the documents folder.



    Besides that it still works to easily backup & restore the database on other machines.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  6. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Location:
    Ocean
    You could be right but I think Im being conservative with the estimated 25K. A similar one which is in the works has taken almost that much. Another one but for KSD presets is over 26k also. If you have some free time and want to team up with a couple of other guys and myself to work on it I am all for it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  7. r4e

    r4e Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    402
    Ye, time is the issue here but I'm very interested.
    Btw. Nice ammount of Posts & Likes
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  8. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Location:
    Europe
    That's why I refuse to use vst3 versions, I do it in a pretty similar way when I install the pluggies.
     
  9. babuk

    babuk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    19
    That plugin list tho! :woot: picking a plugin from there is alaways an adventure.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  10. lcp

    lcp Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    get studio one its better in every way and will do this automatically for you.
     
  11. Vexed

    Vexed Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    17
    That's quite the collection you have there @The Pirate and well organised, too! :rofl:
    VST2's are easy to organise but is it still not possible to custom sort VST3's if the DAW doesn't support it or the relevant tags aren't embedded?
     
  12. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Location:
    Ocean
    I did not understand your question. I would say that 95% of my VSTs are VST3. You are partly correct, if DAW does no support it or without tags embedded it is hard but not impossible. As I was discussing with another member, it will take lots of coding which equal lots of hours.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  13. Vexed

    Vexed Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    17
    Oh, right! So, how did you manage to organise them, given that it wouldn't have been a simple task such as moving them where you wanted? & Was that just in one DAW or for all DAWs?
    Thanks :)
     
  14. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Location:
    Europe
    If you really install vst3s they are automatically allocated to the folders the way the developer sees fit, at least afaik.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  15. mono

    mono Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    548
    Location:
    Floating Amongst the Stars
    I know a very quick way to sort out the database manually by vendor,
    You remove all your plugins by just renameing your plugin folder and make a new blank plugin folder
    then run a plugin scan .This clears out the new plugins found list .
    you then add say all your fabfilter plugins into the new plugin folder ,run a fast scan
    and this addes all the fabfilter plugins into the new plugins folder in fl,

    Make a new folder called fabfilter then right click on the new plugins folder icon in fl and choose open folder
    then copy all the files from the new plugins folder into your premade fabfilter folder
    then add the fabfilter folder into your main plugin database folder and there ya go.
    you just repeat this with all plugin till there sorted,fastes way ive found so far :wink:
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  16. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Location:
    Ocean
    That is just for FL Studio. On other DAWs you need to learn how they go about sorting the plugins. Once yo got that info you can customize your plugin selection for each DAW. If everyone did it we could build a database and simply kept on adding. As I was discussing with @r4e, it some of us get together we could code an app that would automate that process for us.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  17. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Location:
    Ocean
    The VST3 are automatically installed in the Program Files\Common Files\VST3 and generally grouped by manufacturer. That is where they reside, however, the sorting out has nothing to do with that. All my VST3 are still in that folder. The sorting out is done within the DAWs system.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  18. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Europe
    That striked struck me as odd, too. Not to mention that would translate into like one zillion C++ code lines lol
    So what I understand is that you developed a tool to organize your plugins and somehow export them to whatever format uses FL Studio internally. Is that right? That really would be hard and time-consuming. Toontrack EZMIX has a very powerful presets database browser that does that. Of course, it only manages its own presets so it's way wayy easier than what you did.

    Haha, I remember somebody told me that when I had 1024 posts and 512 likes. No need to explain more in the context of this talk ;) True history. I forgot to take an screenshot, too bad!

    Edited: now that I think of it, JUCE's framework comes with a plugin scanner and tester with source code included. The DDMF Metaplugin developers were fairly criticized by some because basically they took that source code and they didn't even bother to improve the scan process (like they do in Plogue Bidule, Blue Cat Audio, for instance)
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
  19. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    1,054
    Location:
    Ocean
    @Xupito That much coding is not far from reality if we want to make one app which can work in all major DAWs is not going to be so simple. Take for example https://presetmagician.com/license/trial. When she started the project I didnt think it was going to take this much. The developer, she has almost 30k lines in it and she keeps adding more. This girl is a beast. I will check that scanner from J. That sounds like a way to streamline some of the work.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  20. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Europe
    Indeed, if you want a tool that somehow exports plugin organization to every major DAW format or whatever way they store it that is big task.
     
  21. Buga

    Buga Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I use this small tool, helps with sorting by vendor:
    http://www.filefactory.com/file/3thaujqcn7yb/FruityFolders.zip

    Extract this and put .exe in root folder (eg. PluginDatabase-Installed-Effects-VST) and run.
    Repeat for VST3 folder if needed (or Generators-Installed).
    Unsorted plugs will be in NoName folder.
    Original files are left in root folder /erase them or leave them there/.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Automatically split Plugins Forum Date
All recorded midi gets automatically quantized? Cubase / Nuendo Jul 14, 2017
Ableton creates automatically a ping pong delay when adding a new audio track Live Apr 28, 2017
Apple to automatically upgrade Sierra on Macs Mac / Hackintosh Oct 4, 2016
Auditioning presets automatically Software Mar 18, 2016
Kontakt Closes Tabs Automatically Kontakt Mar 6, 2015
Loading...