Auto-recording input audio in a USB key?

Discussion in 'DJ' started by Highdom, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. Highdom

    Highdom Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    30
    My question is really strange, so please read with attention.

    I need to record an audio signal from my mixer and going from my speaker. Does it exists any "audiocard" that record automatically in a usb key signal incoming if it's connected?
    I am thinking about DJM 900 recording system...it can be the same trick...
     
  2.  
  3. kostovas

    kostovas Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    28
    Can you explain it better? Maybe with a drawing or a picture.
     
  4. angie

    angie Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Milano
    A lot of inexpensive portable recorders have line inputs :dunno:
     
  5. Highdom

    Highdom Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yes, a recorder! Any cheap example with line input?
     
  6. GangamStyle

    GangamStyle Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    23
  7. The Teknomage

    The Teknomage Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    487
    Depends on your mixer as not all digital recorders can handle the mixers output without an attenuater.
     
  8. Highdom

    Highdom Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    30
    Digital Dj mixer Pionner dj 700 or 850
     
  9. The Teknomage

    The Teknomage Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    487
    Both have record out RCA outputs, which stay at a contant level no matter what you do with your master sliders, but I would check on the Pioneer Dj forums to see what other Djs are using, as some recorders can't handle the output and will clip.
     
  10. boomoperator

    boomoperator Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    89
    Yep, Zoom is about the cheapest & ok-quality you can get.
    But @The Teknomage is right, the output of a Pioneer is too hot for a consumer-type recorder, the recording will sound clipped, distorted when the level goes past 0 (and every DJ does:)).
    So you need an attenuator that takes a few dB of the signal, like these:
    http://www.canford.co.uk/Products/20-901_CANFORD-IN-LINE-RCA-PHONO-ATTENUATOR-Phono-in-out (2x, for left & right)
    or this box: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/331962-REG/Rolls_MX42_MX42_Mini_Stereo_Mixer.html
    You could also use these in combination with an audiointerface/soundcard, and skip the Zoom recorder..
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Auto recording input Forum Date
How the hell do you automate 3rd party in studio one 3 ? Studio One Wednesday at 7:51 AM
Auto-Tune does not function in Studio One 4 Studio One Monday at 6:32 AM
Automatic time stretching samples Saturday at 2:22 PM
Fl Studio with auto-tune FL Studio Nov 2, 2018
Studio One 4.0.1 and 4.1: Wrong Automation Numbers After Re-open Projects Studio One Sep 19, 2018
Loading...