Audio signal from any program throught Ableton?

Discussion in 'Software' started by Roject, Nov 19, 2019.

  1. Roject

    Roject Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    144
    Hi. Like topic says.

    Normal audio is
    Windows -> Software Audio -> Speakers
    How to make this?
    Windows -> Software Audio -> Ableton Audio Track -> Speakers

    Without latency, without feedback loop. If audio is throught ableton, connection soft audio -> speakers shouldn't exist, soft audio is muted and should be heard only in ableton audio track after choosing monitor in.
    How to do that?

    I have Creative Sound Blaster usb sound card as default and additional cheap media tech MT5101 usb sound card and Integrated sound card with Realtek driver if this helps.
    I'm trying connection jack - jack from one cheap sound card to default sound card input audio in but all windows audio was there.
    For example Rebirth RB-338 has a Rewire option in ableton and after choosing this will be muted and can be heard only in ableton audio track.
    Is there something like this for any windows program?

    Cheers :)
     
  2.  
  3. Rainy Keys

    Rainy Keys Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I'm trying to clarify what you're asking here.........You're trying to get audio from Ableton to go to your speakers correct?
     
  4. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    4,017
    Likes Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    Europe
    Defo not.
    As he wrote, he wants the output of a Windows software (any kind of player) as an input in Ableton and then listen to it via Ableton's output, not the player's. For instance: Winamp out -> Ableton in, Ableton out -> soundcard/monitors (not Winamp -> soundcard/monitors).

    But for this you need to be able to select Ableton in the players output settings, otherwise its signal is directly send to the soundcard/monitors and I don't know if this is possible.
     
  5. Rainy Keys

    Rainy Keys Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ohhhh ok gotcha thanks. He may can use the multi-channel version of ASIO to accomplish this.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  6. panaman

    panaman Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    27
    dont know if this helps, i can only say how i do it.
    my audiocard has a mixer where i can route e.g. wave source (winamp) to asio which i can select in a daw. daw asio out goes back to the mixer and to spdif out.
    this way you can run your music through any vst.
    without asio latency will be unacceptable
     
  7. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    If you setup multiple I/O in Ableton: 1/2 AND 3/4 . 1/2 for your speakers, 3/4 for headphones, then use something like JACKaudio, or Voicemeeter ?
     
  8. recycle

    recycle Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    461
    Location:
    motherboard
  9. albert001

    albert001 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Always In My Mind
    Odeus Asio Link is the only solution on windows, that I know is capable of doing this easily and with very good Latency(no additional latency) and no cpu hit:

    https://www.give.academy/posts/2018/03/02/AsioLinkPro/

    There are several treats on AS, but if you wanna go fast in to it, i can assist you.I was a customer from 2014 to 2017(The Dev Passed Away) and had since then, used it all the time till now thanks to giveacadamy.

    Edit: if you install it, and you do just music then go for the stereo WDM Port not the 7.1!
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2019
  10. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    What kind of audio software are we talking about? Different software - different solutions. I don't know of software that does it all. If you need to record some other ASIO compatible program into Live you can use free ReaStream ASIO driver from Cockos. It comes with Reaper, so you have to install it to be able to use it. Then you can stream any ASIO program into any other ASIO program. I use this thing a lot. Meaning tons. All the time. :rofl:

    But you're probably just trying to get live internet audio into Live... I know how people think these days. :wink: In that case I would just recommend downloading what you want and loading it into Live. Why make things complicated when they can be simple? :wink:

    Not saying there aren't solutions for this. I just cannot remember the name of the program right now. It's from VB audio. Some kind of a Windows driver and app.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2019
  11. Roject

    Roject Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    144
    For example i would like use Skype with Autotune or any others fx or program called Morphvox for changing voice and adding fx effects in ableton and listen in real time. Maybe monitoring in real time any windows game with adding some fx, example valhalla reverb, delay or autotune for searching interesting sounds or from movies (Windows Media Player Soft or from net) but this is optional and can be record as you mention, but some things can't be done this method. That's why I start this topic, for info is this is possible and have sense.
    Cheers :)
     
  12. tun

    tun Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    481
    maybe virtual audio cable can do that? https://www.vb-audio.com/Cable

    i used it many years ago so cant really remember exactly what it can do, but it might have a system audio tap or something. definitely worth a try. im sure it was able to be set as the playback device for system audio, then you can patch the other end of the virtual cable in live and do what you need to do in there
     
  13. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    2,109
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    Unfortunately, what you're asking for is not possible, as far as my knowledge goes. Sorry. :( You can record anything that your system plays with the VB-Audio app, though.

    There is an app on the sister site called Vocal Voice Changer, but I don't think you can use it with Skype, and I don't think VB-Audio app will be able to help you with that.
     
  14. Roject

    Roject Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    144
    I can live without it :thumbsup:
    So, this kind of program audio throught ableton is too complicated and have no sense. Better option is record Interesting fragment of audio and import to Ableton.
    Hello Sound Forge! :mad:
     
  15. Funk U

    Funk U Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    145
    Like SineWave said, ReaStream is a good option. But yes, for what you want (Skype and the like) Vocal Voice Changer is your best bet.
    For want you are trying to do, i found the few standalone apps that do this function are better then routing audio it and out of DAWs. In fact, I would route the standalone apps into the DAW, in instances where i wanted to record what i was saying as well. But Vocal Voice Changer does work for skype, specifically.

    I have another standalone app with a similar function in my archives but i can't remember the name. And my workstation is down right now so i can't look.
     
  16. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    1,697
    Super easy way with virtually no added latency or CPU usage would be to run Skype on another PC or tablet or even phone and run that into one of your interfaces inputs. Create a track in Ableton for that specific input and load your FX there. Virtual Audio Cables were what I was thinking of when I suggested Voicemeeter. I see they have a new(?) product called Potato. No Windows machines here so I couldn't try it. Has plugins for FX but no third-party plugin compatibility.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2019
  17. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    421
    I still think Asio Link Pro might do it.
    I can record from the various channels of 7.1 surround movies playing in VLC into my daw and monitor & record whatever I want with it.
    And I can run that all from my other computer if I want, because it includes network routing.
    Maybe I am confused on what you want to do, but I think it will do it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  18. albert001

    albert001 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Always In My Mind
    I don't think that people know what Asio Link is..., it is almost core audio functionality but in a windows way(Asio+WDMAudio+loopback+networking in one driver adon)without aggregation(if you need aggregation use asio4all+Asio Link, but you have more latency as reported on the in port with asio4all, so pick your poison).
    Look in the manual, it is short and not all possibilities are stated extensively, but it gives you a good starting point..., Have Fun!:)
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  19. orbitbooster

    orbitbooster Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    141
    In past I used Voicemeeter + VB audio cable, then I discovered Odeus Asio Link Pro that is IMMENSELY powerful, and it can stream anything into anything in the audio realm, it's multiclient so any asio daw has its own customized audio router / mixer.
    It's a bit complicated at first to grasp, though.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Audio signal program Forum Date
Midi clock trigger via audio signal? Syncing Hardware Synth with Mobile Phone App Drum Sequencer? Soundgear Apr 18, 2020
I.C.E for Sonic Studio and Legendary Audio ("softening the signal") Software Reviews and Tutorials Apr 17, 2017
Weird Signal coming through my Audio interface input. Computer Hardware Mar 21, 2016
XLR no signal at all M-Audio Fast Track Ultra no sound Computer Hardware May 27, 2012
Fuse Audio Labs - a new tape sim coming soon Software News Yesterday at 9:45 PM
Loading...