Audio Interface for mixing

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Laggy, Jan 10, 2017.

  1. Iggy

    Iggy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    164
    You could always pick up a UAD interface, then send it in to Black Lion later on for a mod (probably what I'll end up doing with my MBox Pro) ... but for that kind of money, you could just pick up a Lynx or an Antelope, or start building a Burl system. And the Hilos are quite nice! Grace also just put out a couple of decent interfaces.
     
  2. Laggy

    Laggy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    You make me want getting that Presonus so badly :D ... every review i've seen says it's one of the best audio interfaces in the market right now.
    with USB 3.0, 8 preamps, u can't ask for more!
    and indeed, I like recording my track sooo clean then apply effects, preamps, saturation, distortion...etc
    even if i have an UAD interface, i wouldn't use the unsion or affect the signal while recording. i love my tracks so clean. idk maybe i'm wrong but that's how it works for me.

    I completely agree. but i was talking about audio interface with good capabilities of mixing and recording.
    u know, it's there if u want to overdub or something.

    i always liked the sound of Avid audio interfaces, some say they're old bla bla bla. but i really liked the Mbox 3 sound. but the firewire connectivity is an issue for me.
    but with Pro tools stuff, i think i'll wait until 13 version. cuz some features need to be updated. not gonna start a Pro tools debate here but i'm sure u know what' i'm talking about!
    but for editing audio and mixing, pro tools still the best of the best :(

    Of course they are one of the best.
     
  3. Laggy

    Laggy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    i must say that listening to songs casually by using your audio interface and your studio monitors is so essential to learn your setup and how really it sounds. good for you for doing that. i used to unplug my audio interface and using the sound card ( on my motherboard ) just to listen to my favourite music. cuz i didn't want to harm it for casual uses :D bad old days.:rofl:

    THE ULTIMATE TRUTH :guru:

    good vision, but i'm afraid of latency on TC products.As a Focusrite user, i had only 5 Ms overall latency on the 2i2. :dunno:
    as i mentioned b4, i'm having it for both recording and mixing.

    tascam uh-7000 looks lovely, but it has no DI :dunno: it's cheaper than the presonus usb 3.0.
    still absolutely considering it though.
    thanks man :wink:
     
  4. solo83

    solo83 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    107
    Just be patient. And get ready to shell out your money for a pc with thunderbolt 3 ports. I believe just about every major pc distributor is on board with making compatible products :)
     
  5. Iggy

    Iggy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    164
    I assume you're on a newer MacBook or a machine without Firewire? There's a ton of good USB interfaces around, and if you're on a MB with Thunderbolt 2, you have a lot of options I don't (plus, there's TB to Firewire).

    I actually never used PT until I got this interface (I had 10 HD, but it became instantly useless when I upgraded to El Capitan). My main interest in getting it was to learn it for future reference and to check out its editing capabilities versus DP. So far, I like it, although there's a scarcity of plugs out there ... fortunately, there's also Blue Cat Patchwork and DDMF that allows me to use AU plugs and VIs.
     
  6. Laggy

    Laggy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    well, purchasing a new motherboard + audio interface is too much :dunno:
    i know thunderbolt is a huge step but imagine that:
    upgrading motherboard and the OS to windows 10 then noticing the performance and the errors that may be appear in my system.
    idk but that's too much money and time to me :(

    nope, i'm using windows 7 sp1.
    so no firewire ( my motherboard hasn't one ) and no thunderbolt.
    that's why i start thinking about the presonus usb 3.0 ..
    and i liked the audient devices too, seem solid.

    DP is great, especially for doing orchestra or movies stuff
    but still Pro tools is the best for audio editing.
    for mixing stuff like plugins, busses, automation, i think most of the DAWs right now can do the same. maybe easier than pro tools.
    in my opinion, learning the basics of pro tools and watch how the PROS doing it is a must.
    then you can translate every thing to your DAW
     
  7. Iggy

    Iggy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    164
    Gotcha. I hear good things about Audient's preamps (if I get an interface with DB-25 ins, I'd probably get a couple of 880s to feed it). There's a ton of great USB 2.0/3.0 interfaces around. You should really consider Antelope's stuff, especially for the clocking, since all their interfaces are USB 2.0/Thunderbolt. They've also finally started making inexpensive desktop interfaces like Apogee's Duet or UAD's Apollo Twin.

    I do a lot of movie stuff, so DP is definitely great for that, or for MIDI in general. They've gotten a lot better over the years with audio, but they're still behind everybody else, especially with track editing. I really wanted to learn PT, especially since, for better or worse, that's the studio standard -- if I eventually get into my own professional rig, I want to be able to offer it to clients, and if I work at other studios, I want to know what I'm doing without having to figure it out on the spot. Plus, I'd like to have a DAW I can import MIDI 1 tracks from DP into and use that to record audio.
     
  8. Kwissbeats

    Kwissbeats Rock Star

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    360
    all the (cheap)interfaces that has been released last 3-4 years are all shit.
    Everybody started to use shitty preamps with shitty gain knobs.

    The last mbox is really shit, the D/A actually clips before 0 db, who can make music like that?

    And in almost every case I would advise putting it in a 2.0 usb slot,
    even if it says it supports 3.0, I haven't seen any device performing well on 3.0 and windows
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  9. Laggy

    Laggy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gonna check them right now. Though i think Antelope's stuff are so pricey for me.

    mentioning DP made me think you make movie music stuff :winker:
    I LOVE IT. DP+VIDEO+MIDI is a really powerful combination already, but believe me, once you add the Pro tools to the equation for recording and editing audio, you will feel the difference.
    I don't know how to say it in English, but it feels like you are "covered".
    it's like that you have ALL THE TOOLS NEEDED to CONTROL THE SITUATION. :rofl:MIDI, Audio, Editing, Mixing, Mastering
     
  10. Laggy

    Laggy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    I beg to differ with you, even my old Focusrite 2i2 hasn't this issue :no:
    and Audient and Focusrite made great devices over the past 4 years.

    That's a serious matter for me. i need to check it out. Thank you buddy:mates:
     
  11. recycle

    recycle Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Iraqi
  12. Iggy

    Iggy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    164
    I think you're probably on the right track with the Audient interface. And I think you can expand it later on with a rackmount Audient preamp set.

    I usually master in a a dedicated two-track editor (currently, DSP-Quattro 4), but I'm hoping using DP for MIDI and PT 12 for audio and mixing works out. The tricky part will be using Blue Cat Patchwork and DDMF metaplug to host all the AU plugs I don't have AAX versions of.
     
  13. Laggy

    Laggy Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    the question here is: if i use blue cat patchwork to be able to use vst plugins inside pro tools, does the automatic delay compensation work normally? like with the axx plugins we put into the track?do the vst plugins work fully and normally?
    my English isn't helping me :D can't choose the proper words but i hope you understand
     
  14. Iggy

    Iggy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    164
    I haven't really had any latency problems with Blue Cat Patchwork. I started messing around with DDMF metaplug because it's a little more streamlined than Patchwork, but Patchwork works pretty good. You can also stack multiple VST or AU plugs inside one instance of Patchwork (or a VI followed by an effect or multiple effects), although I prefer to use it on a one-plug-per-instance basis.
     
  15. Kwissbeats

    Kwissbeats Rock Star

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    360
    Put them against a Digidesign Mbox or edirol soundcard and they all fall short.
    even the latency/cpu got worse
     
  16. solo83

    solo83 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    107

    I doubt there will be any performance issues that won't be worked out immediately. If anything they will be driver issues on Apollo's behalf, and they worked the issue out with the twin pretty rapidly. Also the investment would be well worth it, as thunderbolt 3's specs and perks are through the roof. I feel what you're saying though, money is tight...lol.. I might be sticking with usb 3.0 for a couple more years myself. Personally I'd go with Focusrite's scarlett series. Nice convertors and clean pres. I upgraded to the Apollo twin from the 6i6, and to be honest, the quality differences are so minute that to an average listener I doubt it would even be noticeable.
     
  17. solo83

    solo83 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    107
    I have zero latency with my 6i6. And the pres sound much better than when I was recording on a digi 002.
     
  18. dazz

    dazz Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    23
    LOL @ that UAD converters sound freaking awesome and a twin for mixing is the bomb.....what a troll you will never fly surrounded by turkeys
     
Loading...
Loading...