Audio Hardware Sequencer

Discussion in 'ESP' started by maikelsolo, Aug 28, 2016.

  1. maikelsolo

    maikelsolo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Saludos a [email protected] Aunque llevo tiempo frecuentando este sitio siempre buscando la mejor información, hoy me decido a abrir este hilo para comentar una necesidad que tengo y que no encuentro la manera de solventarla. Se trata de descubrir algún cacharro hardware o programa informático que me permita tocar en vivo pero con la peculiaridad de poder seleccionar mediante botón o pedalera el coro siguiente, p.ej. una canción con estructura clásica A A B A xnº ce coros (3, 4, 5...), intro y final. poder ir a cualquier parte, coro o al inicio o al final pero con la peculiaridad de que esto se produzca cuando termine la parte actual, ya sea un coro (generalmente) o la intro o el final. Por más que busco no encuentro ni equipo hardware ni aplicación software que cumpla este simple requisito. Después de muchos años metido en este mundillo aun no he encontrado nada parecido. A Ableton live le falta este detalle, lo tiene todo menos la opción en el modo Launch. tiene una serie de opciones: siguiete, anterior, primera, última, aleatoria... pero TODAS están sometidas a la dictadura de la cuantización general. No es posible lanzar una escena de p.ej. 32 compases, dejarla sonar en loop hasta que se quiera pasar a la siguiente escena simplemente dándole a un controlar de pie o de mano sin tener que estar pendiente a hacerlo a falta de 1, 2, 4 o 8 compases, poder indicar el cambio de escena desde poco despues del inicio de la escena actual y cuando TERMINE la escena en curso pasar automáticamente a la indicada. Eso Live no lo hace y no sé porqué no lo hace. Les voy a mandar un email a los chicos de Ableton, a ver si me hacen caso ¿Alguien sabe de algún soft o harware que tenga esta simpleza tan obvia?
    Por mucho tiempo tuve un secuenciador midi hardware, un Roland MC80 EX y hacia esto posible con cuatro posibles lugares de la canción a la que ir cuando terminara el coro en curso, eran las "mark jump" y era genial, me acostumbré a trabajar así, pero es solo MIDI por lo que no trabaja con audio.
    ¿cómo lo ven?
    Saludos Audiosexis..
    hehehee
     
  2.  
  3. The Teknomage

    The Teknomage Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    499
    Yamaha RS 7000 connected to a Roland SP 404sx might work.
     
  4. maikelsolo

    maikelsolo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the info but not is factible for me. Dont know how to search those components. Sure will be expensive. Ideal will be in software.
     
  5. Iggy

    Iggy Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    145
    Don't do it. Those old-school hardware sequencers were a nightmare. I used to own a Yamaha two-track sequencer back in the late Eighties, and while it had a few features, like quantization, it was basically like owning a four-track tape deck. You had to bounce (or add) the track you were working with to the other track in order to record or work with a third or higher-count track. There was no way to really edit MIDI information after you recorded it (it had a small LED readout for numbers only), so if you messed up something, you pretty much had to re-record the entire track. It could play a lot of MIDI tracks, but there was no separation between channels -- it was basically just one MIDI 0 track. It only stored one song at a time, and the only way to back up your song was to do a MIDI dump to a cassette, which you had to record back into the sequencer all the way through if you wanted to work with that song again. The minute they came out with software sequencers and computer MIDI interfaces, I sold that thing off.
     
  6. fiction

    fiction Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    183
    @maikelsolo:
    What exactly are you missing in Live?
    By mapping keys or midi messages to the launch buttons under the MASTER track, you can do exactly that: Launch sets of clips whenever you like. And of course their launch time is quantized, what else would make sense?
     
  7. maikelsolo

    maikelsolo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Iggy #4
    I found that Steinberg Sequel 3 can do this so I'll try.

    fiction #5
    I think than in Ableton live missing this detail. It has a number of options in Launch mode or simply ordering a change of scene: next, previous, first, last, random ... but all are subject to the dictatorship of general quantization. Unable to launch a scene of e.g. 32 bars, let it play loop until you pass to the next scene simply giving a controler foot or hand without having to be aware to do so in the absence of 1, 2 , 4 or 8 bars. I need to indicate the change of scene in any time and only when I finished the scene in progress, automatically switch to the next.
    I believe than in the possibilities of quantification from 1, 2, 4 or 8 bars, missing "launch when you finish the scene in progress".
    Perhaps I can not explain the situation correctly in English, but if you have understood me and know how to do this, I would greatly appreciate you tried me explain. I really like Ableton Live but...
    Excuse me for my poor english lenguage. This is an added difficulty.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2016
  8. NicoDPS

    NicoDPS Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    81
    I think that you cannot "launch when you finish the scene in progress" but you can use the follow action to do the exact same thing, you juste have to set up this in the "launch" window of you clip (free tips: you can select more than one clip to do that :wink:) you have to choose the number of bar before the follow action takes place.
    In the same "launch" window you can determine if this clip will follow the global quantization or not...

    I hope this will help you
     
  9. The Teknomage

    The Teknomage Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    499
    Answer 1: eBay. Answer 2: Yamaha RS 7000 about 300 U.S, Roland SP 404sx about 4-500 U.S. Answer 3: I thought you might prefer the hardware option.
    I'm pretty sure I can set up my RM1x to do that, but it's hardware.
    The Sequencer is the real meat of the RS7000, where you make music out of the sounds it's got and that you've put into it! It offers pattern-based recording with 16 tracks each, and a 200,000 note-per-song capacity. Linear sequencer sequencing, like you would do using a software sequencer like Cubase, is also supported by the RS7000. Pattern-based sequences can be converted to the linear format as well. Realtime, grid and step recording methods are also available. Linking patterns into songs can be done in real time and meticulously tweaked. Total MIDI control, real-time hands on control, 18 assignable knobs and two pads, a Master effect section (with a multi-band compressor, slicer, isolater, other DJ-style master effects), and more. Technology had improved somewhat by 2001, when the RS7000 was produced.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  10. Iggy

    Iggy Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    145
    Sorry, I was under the impression we were discussing an "old school" sequencer, like the crap we had in the Eighties. Even the computer-based stuff from that era, like the Atari SE, was kind of unreliable, especially when you were trying to commit sequenced audio to tape.
     
  11. The Teknomage

    The Teknomage Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    499
    No worries. I have the RM1x, which the RS7000 is quite an upgrade from. You couldn't pay me to go back to making my music with a computer.
     
  12. LV4-26

    LV4-26 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Monaco European Union
    For you..! Not for me! And this one? It is also piss?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2016
  13. Iggy

    Iggy Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    145
    I think you need to re-read what I wrote (and then amended to be a bit more clear). I was never discussing recent hardware sequencers, just the old school ones from the Eighties. Like this piece of shit:

    [​IMG]

    I don't even think I've used a hardware sequencer since this was considered "cutting edge". As for disagreeing with the OP, I already established that I misinterpreted what he was asking about.
     
  14. LV4-26

    LV4-26 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Monaco European Union
    Ok sorry. I discovered my first sequencer with the Roland S-50. There was a key to be inserted in and you had the famous Director-S. A pretty amazing sequencer, but limited in the number of notes. The first time I listened to the demo, I felt that it was of the same quality of a CD.. :woot:

     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  15. huschiwuschi

    huschiwuschi Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Earth
    The best Hardware Sequencer I know is the Roland MV8000.
    Its workflow is so fast when doing alot of sampling / resampling etc.
    The only downside is that its loading times are sllooowww


    [​IMG]
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  16. Iggy

    Iggy Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    145
    Never got to use a Roland sequencer or sampler, just the old-school 808 and 909 drum machines (and later, BOSS DR-660 and -770 machines, which I still have laying around). I gave up on hardware after the Yamaha QX7 -- my next sequencer was "Music-X" on the Amiga 500, and then, I just stayed with computers. The hardware they've come out with in the last twenty or twenty-five years is awesome. I can appreciate the movement to get away from computers and back to purpose-built machines, like Eurorack synths, hardware sequencers, drum machines and samplers, especially for live performance.
     
  17. maikelsolo

    maikelsolo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lo encontré. Se llama Renoise. Para quien no lo conozca se trata de un "tracker" Es algo diferente a lo que estamos acostumbrado. Estoy encantado con este software y a un precio muy democrático. Hace exactamente lo que preciso. Tiene la característica de secuenciar por matriz de patrones y esto para tocar en directo es formidable. Aconsejo probar la Demo que es totalmente funcional. Un gran software.
    Gracias a todos por vuestra ayuda y consejos.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Audio Hardware Sequencer Forum Date
Repairing Audio Hardware Soundgear Mar 12, 2017
classic audio hardware emulated by native vst/rtas/au plugins PC Jan 11, 2012
(pspaudioware.com) PSP Nexcellence Software News Yesterday at 11:40 PM
Audiosex forum software Lounge Monday at 10:28 PM
Problems Signing in to Audioz Forum News and Updates Monday at 6:02 AM
Loading...