ASIO4all won't launch in Windows 10

Discussion in 'PC' started by Bernjard, Jul 11, 2020.

  1. Bernjard

    Bernjard Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    Been trying to solve this for days and no idea what to do.

    Asio4all won't launch in Omnisphere or legit version of Pianoteq. I thought it might be due to my installation of FL, so uninstalled that but no joy.

    When I try to launch within legit Pianoteq it says: The ASIO4all device is not available or has stopped working. Device didn't start correctly.

    When I try to launch within Omnisphere, ASIO4all won't load.

    In both the above cases, I can see AIO4all trying to launch in the bottom right hand corner and the green logo turns to a red exclamation mark before disappearing.

    I have installed and uninstalled and re-downloaded the latest ASIO4all driver (2.14).

    I have tried doing the above either with my Audio Engine D1 USB DAC plugged in, or not plugged in. It makes no difference.

    The next step I can think of is to uninstall and reinstall Omnisphere and Pianoteq. Nuclear option would be to reinstall Windows 10 completely.

    Can anyone make any suggestions. Once upon a time this worked, but have recently got into the music scene again and can no longer get it working on my system.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2.  
  3. Hareesh S

    Hareesh S Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    29
    Do you mean it doesn't work with Omnisphere standalone? Does it work within FL studio? I'll be honest, I use an inbuilt converter, so I don't know too much about this, but I would assume you should use the audio engine drivers?
     
  4. Bernjard

    Bernjard Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't work in standalone. Never tried in FL studio. There are no ASIO drivers specifically for audio engine D1, as far as I know.

    I assume that because ASIO4all simply doesn't launch regardless of whether the D1 is installed that it is nothing to do with the D1.
     
  5. minozheros

    minozheros Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    62
    maybe try it with the internal soundcard of your computer first and see if that works without the d1 connected.
     
  6. Bernjard

    Bernjard Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried it without the d1 connected. As mentioned in the post it won't launch still. I just reinstalled Pianoteq. Still does not work.

    Feels like something outside of these two apps (Ominisphere and Legit Pianoteq) is broken.

    I can't imagine what that could be. Perhaps some other app has been installed which has screwed up some code which is being relied upon by ASIO4ALL. What on earth could stop it from launching.
     
  7. Bernjard

    Bernjard Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a generic ASIO driver which is an alternative to ASIO4all?
     
  8. Triphammer

    Triphammer Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    27
    Steinberg has a "Generic Low Latency ASIO driver" that installs with any version of Cubase.
    If you look hard enough you maybe able to find the standalone installer for this driver:

    "Generic_Lower_Latency_ASIO_Driver_64bit.msi"

    Ploytec, who provides ASIO drivers for many third parties also makes their own standalone ASIO driver.
    But I've found it to be a bit buggy.

    ASIO4All is not a proper ASIO driver and has known issue with Win 10.
     
  9. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    3,411
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    It does work. All you need to do is set it up correctly. I just finished installing it in a client's computer to test if it worked. Below you can see what needs to be done.

    ASIO4ALL W10.png
     
  10. Bernjard

    Bernjard Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Pirate but after the box on the 2nd arrow is selected Asio4all doesnt load at all and the error comes up, so the usual control panel that you show wont even appear.

    I have 2 installations of omnisphere. The one that doesnt work is v2.4 I think. I have 2.6 on a different machine but havent tried that yet. . Maybe installing 2 6 on this machine will solve but doesnt explain asio4all not working in keyscape and pianoteq too.

    I definitely think something is peculiar with my system. I havent seen anyone else posting with this precise issue.
     
  11. Bernjard

    Bernjard Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Triphammer. Have recently purchased Cubase and just installed so will try the Generic driver tomorrow.
     
  12. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    3,411
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    ASIO$ALL b.png
     
  13. Hareesh S

    Hareesh S Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2019
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    29
    It might be a permissions conflict? One way to check that would be to see if it works in a different environment, such as a daw.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - ASIO4all won't launch Forum Date
ASIO4ALL vs MAGIX ASIO Soundgear Jul 23, 2019
asio4all v2.14 update for win10 creators update Software News May 23, 2017
ASIO4ALL 2.13 released Software News Nov 12, 2015
Asio4all and Windows sound driver discrepancy Software Aug 30, 2015
Asio4All problems Software May 20, 2015
Loading...