Asio4All problems

Discussion in 'Software' started by Tag4rce7, May 20, 2015.

1. Tag4rce7

Tag4rce7 Noisemaker

Hi! :)

Sorry I these questions have already been posted a million time, but I can't find anything on this forum.

I have two little problems with the Asio4All drivers that I just installed today. First, I don't know why, but when I have Live 9 launched, I cannot hear windows sound anymore. Just Live 9 and that's all. That's a big problem for me because I always watch a ton of tutorials and listen to some tracks for inspiration while producing. (I'm a beginner ^^)

And secondly, I feel like changing the sample rate does nothing at all. I mean, if I set it at maximum value, I get a super high latency (So far it's good) but if I put it at minimum value, I get no latency, but my sound quality stay perfect. So I can be like at a 64 samples buffer, and my audio quality is still perfect. So I think that's meaning that something isn't working properly :/

Any idea on how I can resolve these problems?

Thanks for your time. And, sorry for noob questions. :mates:

PS: I don't know if it's important, but I use the integrated soundcard of my computer. I do not have a "real" sound card/audio interface.

3. faunus

faunus Ultrasonic

buying a cheap sound card just for dedicated use with live is a good solution......

4. zero-frag

zero-frag Producer

1st question: that's normal if you use ASIO4ALL. You can buy an antry level audio interface (around 100$) and use actual ASIO drivers, then you won't have that issue anymore. The audio will be coming from the audio interface and you can watch videos while making music.

It's one of the problems of ASIO4all unfortunately... :thumbsup:

2nd question: if you're able to sustain 64 samples without any latency, then that's what you should use. But I can guarantee you you're going to run into trouble at some point.