Arrangement and Writing EDM Music

Discussion in 'Electronic' started by Bunford, Apr 12, 2014.

1. Bunford

Bunford Audiosexual

I am interested in making music in the style of EDM with a bit of dubstep-inspired synths, think Knife Party, Zomboy, Porter Robinson etc.

Anyway, I have been designing sound and effects for TV, games, films etc so have a good idea on synths etc and regularly use Massive and Reaktor. However, not in the musical style, more in a sound design way. I am also a guitarist and been playing guitar for several years and am competent.

Now, back to the point of my question. I am looking for advice, tutorial, tips etc on the actual writing and arrangement for this style of music. All tutorials I have come across are more about the creation of synth sounds etc rather than how to write lines to utilise them synth sounds well and the musicality behind it.

Anyone got any pointers?

3. widgetmaster

widgetmaster Newbie

OK, am going to try and help. This could be a VERY long answer .. but I am going to try and keep is as short as i can.....

If you do not know the following things .. you will need to get the books to learn them ... if you do .. then listen to / study the progressions, bass, counter point and melodic lines by listening to your favorite music in the genera of your choice ... ok, here we go.

1. Music notation .. bass and treble clef / the keyboard / the range of different instruments that you use.
    2. Diatonic (key related) and minor harmony.
    3. Modal interchange (harmony)
    4. Counter point
    5. Chord progression and melodic construction and constructs
    6. Basic Arranging ( melody, harmony, bass lines, reharmonization, guide tone lines
    7. The above is good for the basics .. now you need to know the range of the various instruments you use, and what the areas (range) they sound the best in.

Keeping in mind that a good tune sounds good because it is well written, well arranged, and well mixed / recorded.