Are you happy you decided to pursue music?

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by C7, Aug 2, 2017.

?

Are you happy you decided to pursue music?

1. Absolutely

52.3%
  2. For the most part

13.6%
  3. Not sure

6.8%
  4. Sometimes I have my doubts

20.5%
  5. Why do I even do this?

6.8%
  1. C7

C7 Member

I am only an amateur musician and will probably never make a career out of music, but even so every now and then I find myself pondering this question.

Thinking about it from a business standpoint, in terms of costs and benefits, I often wonder if I dedicated all the countless hours I spent on music (around 20-30% of my waking hours) to something else would my life be better, worse, or pretty much the same...

Sometimes I view music almost like a sunk cost where I only keep at it because of all the time I invested in it in the past. Like I am somehow hoping to finally accomplish something that will make all those countless hours worth it.

3. statik

statik Audiosexual

after 25 years and the last 10 years spending ll my time on music i can safely say yeah it's fucked up and incredibly difficult at times, i'm still single, have 3 cats, suffer from depressions and heavy insomnia, always have a part of the month left at the end of my money and often ask myself why the hell i still do this and then i look out the window, see people walking their dog with their kids, going to work every day in the morning, coming home again and walking their dog again, every day. i'm glad that is not my life and happy to have made the choices i made to live the life i have, even if difficult and depressing. i've been places i would have never been able to go to and do things i would have never imagined. i'm glad i didnt 'choose life' and 'chose something else'

• Like Like x 7
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  4. Willum

Willum Rock Star

Music has given me more pleasure over the last 50 years than anything else i've done.