Apple Silicon / Rosetta 2 with Cracked Software?

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by secrettunnel1234, Nov 20, 2020.

  1. secrettunnel1234

    secrettunnel1234 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know they just rolled these new laptops out, but is there any indication of being able to run Catalina compatible cracks on the M1 Macs through Rosetta 2?
     
  2.  
  3. MrLyannMusic

    MrLyannMusic Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Tunis, Tunisia
    Let's give our engineer the time to study and do their thing, pretty sure any relevant information will be shared in the future, for now it's still all new and all!
     
  4. secrettunnel1234

    secrettunnel1234 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    You are right and I am being a little impatient. :disco: Thank you!
     
  5. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    813
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
  6. secrettunnel1234

    secrettunnel1234 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    At risk of being annoying i'll ask a more specific question. Does anyone know if any version of Kontakt (Native Instruments) is working on m1 with Rosetta?
     
  7. vuuru_keg

    vuuru_keg Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    76
    someone please fix me if im wrong - but im assuming the teams/crackers will need to patch plugins (or any software really) both on its x86 architecture, AND on its ARM architecture right? which basically means double work necessary?
    if thats the case im kinda afraid were gonna see even less mac releases, or atleast - very specific ones, meaning some releases will be for intel macs only and some, in the future, will be ARM only

    weird times my friends! 2020 keeps getting into the unknown
     
  8. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    813
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
  9. Pipotron3000

    Pipotron3000 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    509
    Devs are going to create an x86/ARM version jump.
    Example :
    version 1.x is x86 only
    version 2.y is ARM only

    I rarely seen TWO architectures at the same time.
    There is just a point when there are MUCH MORE ppl on ARM.
    Justifying the final jump.
    In between, Rosetta do the "adapter" job.

    For now, it is FAR AWAY.
    Remember : Apple still sell Mac Pro Intel for thousands bucks :wink:
     
  10. secrettunnel1234

    secrettunnel1234 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
  11. vuuru_keg

    vuuru_keg Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2018
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    76
    For now - thats actually not true
    Both Intel macs, and ARM macs are going to co-exists for years still from now, and there are plenty of apps that run on both architectures natively right this moment.
    in fact, apple encourages developers to create their so call "Universal Apps" - meaning developers will build their apps for both architectures - in one installer package, and not abandon one architecture behind [and even once an app is fully ARM based, you can still right click an app and open it with Rosetta (x86) if they were built for intel too]

    Developers ARE going to translate and develop their apps for both architectures, I'd say for atleast 5 more years.

    My question is whether cracking teams will have to do double work by patching both x86 binary assembly AND ALSO ARM assembly.
    Like are we going to start seeing 'FabFilter - Collection (Mac-ARM)' along side 'FabFilter - Collection (Mac-x86)'?
    Or will it be installed normally and patched in the .vst/au level? - meaning they patch both architectures inside the plugin files and you will replace them?

    I guess we'll have to see!
     
  12. Illadelph

    Illadelph Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2020
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    93
    The new apple silicon has its own chip section for security/crypto/apple spyware? wtf i dont like that shit at all

    Why do companies think professionals want everything stuffed in and locked down on a proprietary chip? crazy. this is not a teenagers cellphone, its a professional machine.
    Professional machines are serviceable and tweak-able

    Is apple killing intel and doin the right thing?
    markets say otherwise, apple has been slipping for years and years.

    Apple havent done anything good since the antichrist Steve Jobs tried & died.
    Making their own proprietary CPU chip where the only upside is its slightly faster, and theres MANY downsides to it, meh:rofl:

    So, Mr. Jobs lifted it up a bit and its been a money hungry disgrace since (for pro audio),
    Do they want an award for being the largest tech company in the world and they finally made a CPU themselves?
    They are all about locking out customers from their own machines as if they only pay for the privilege to rent, i dont see why apple hasnt done this trick sooner!
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2020
  13. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    813
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    no, that's 2 different things,
    MacOS support is the first step, M1 support is another step :unsure:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Apple Silicon Rosetta Forum Date
Optimizing Logic Pro on Apple Silicon (also applies to other DAWs & PC) Logic Jan 9, 2021
New Macs shown, Apple Silicon is on the roll, thoughts? Mac / Hackintosh Nov 11, 2020
All your Apples belong to us! [security warning / vulnerability] Mac / Hackintosh Aug 3, 2020
Beatport to apple music/spotify? Internet for Musician Jul 16, 2020
Apple and Tutorials Lounge Jun 23, 2020
Loading...