Apple Silicon M1,M2,M3 Pro,MAx,Ultra Compatibilty n incompabilities

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by Mauwurf, May 11, 2024.

1. Mauwurf

Mauwurf Noisemaker

Hello dear Apple Silicon users and music creators here.

I'm starting this entry here because I think it's necessary to discuss the compatibilities and incompatibilities of DAws and all the FX and instrument plugins that are available on the sister site, so that we can tell each other here what works and what doesn't work.
    This refers to the various combinations of DAW and the plugins used.
    I would like to use this to bring some light into the darkness of the ARM64 /Rosetta X86_64 world with your help.

I currently use an M3Max myself.

I have been using an Intel HAckintosh for the last 5 years.
    Pretty much everything that was available here on the sister site ran and still runs.
    Now, with the switch to Apple Silicon, things are a little different.
    I would like to start with the chapter Omnisphere 2.8.6c.

I have to say that I have just installed everything from Spectrasonics except for Stylus RMX.
    I am currently using Cubase 13.0.30 as my main DaW
    Everything was and is running excellently until I responded to a comment from another user
    in the Omnisphere 2.8.6c thread on the sister site.
    He wrote that he had problems with Omnisphere in combination with the DAW Ableton 12. That it crashes all the time etc.
    I then took care of this and tested it.
    I was then able to reproduce his errors.

In the meantime, an Ableton 11.3.25 HCISO version was released, which I tested straight away.
    Ableton crashed after about 5 minutes.
    I then tried the VST3 version, then the AU version, then in Rosetta mode and in Native mode. With different results.
    But all ended in crashes.

Not usable.