Anyone used Yousician or similar to learn an instrument?

Discussion in 'Instruments' started by Bunford, May 26, 2017.

1. Bunford

Bunford Audiosexual

Anyone here used something like Yousician (or similar ideas) to learn the piano (or any other instrument)?

I know some chords on the piano but use the basic 4-3 and 3-4 rules to work basic major and minor triads. Other than that i don't really know much. Additionally i dont have the muscle memory to play anything other than 4/4 chords and as soon I try to play 'licks' or play 8th or 16th notes I start going all over the shop, so wanna improve my dexterity, though I am a long time guitarist, bassist and drummer.

Just looking for a recommended and quick eay way to learn the piano ideally, though obviohsly appreciate learning an instrument takes as long as it takes.

Any thoughts, opinions or recommendations?

Cheers! :wink:

3. famouslut

famouslut Audiosexual

Find a good teacher. Remember to reuse those 1st 3 fingers (once) when u practice scales, to give u 8 notes. Practice scales! Also use ur left hand much moar, cos u will need dexterity. Ideally, learn to flip pens / coins down ur fingers. Practice writing w/ left hand, assuming ur right handed? Now, tell me how 2 play guitar! Cos ima interest!

4. Bunford

Bunford Audiosexual

Can't really afford a teacher or I would. Maybe in time, but at the moment it's something I'm gonna have to work out a way of doing on my own. In UK piano teacher generally cost around the £25-35 per hour (probably equates to around $40-50). For an hour a week, that is a lot of money without much actually learning time per week in reality. True, they may be able to optimise learning, but it is still a premium I can't afford at present.

And yeah, I am right handed. And always been rubbish at things like flipping pens of coins :rofl:

5. famouslut

famouslut Audiosexual