Anyone running a 5820k 6 core Hackintosh with Ableton 9.7

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by Ultram, Jan 16, 2017.

  1. Ultram

    Ultram Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    brighton uk
    Trying to compare my system with others, how do you rate your performance, I'm thinking about going over to Windows 10 as when using 'CPU core parking utility' my PC flies, 10 Divas, 10 repro-1's, cpu below 30% but when I'm on El Crapitan 4 instances of heavy VST's cranks my cpu up to 60-70%. When not using the parking utility Windows seems to perform about 10% better. I'm not against going over to windoze but would have to find and install all my non legit plugs which would take an age.

    Currently running
    5820k 6 core over clocked to 4.3 ghz
    X99 Gigabyte UD5 Wifi
    EVGA GTX 970
    32 Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 Ram
    Samsung evo 850 SSD's

    Be interested to hear your thoughts.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. JockÄl

    JockÄl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    17
    You should know that Haswell-E CPUs work pretty crappy with Mac OS X, especially with the X99 Mainboards, which I presume you got one. Every X99 mainboard works differently, even if you read a tutorial about a guy who got his system running on a Gigabyte X99-UD4, if you have a UD3 the tutorial is pretty much useless for you.

    Consider this on Mac OSX: Is your sleep-mode properly working? Do you have any problems with proper turbo boosting with different core amounts? Did you fixed the USB 3 problem? If you have everything properly running, then your Mac-Ableton should work similar to your Windows-Ableton performance.

    I currently have a similar problem with audio spikes while recording and doing playbacks in my DAWs, and I presume it's an issue with the motherboard, guess I have to change it (I have the Gigabyte X99-UD3). I also don't see why you should use this CPU core parking utility, this is maybe suitable for old Core 2 Quads, but not for Haswell Extreme CPUs with Enhanced Intel Speedstep Technoloy.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  4. Moonlight

    Moonlight Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    758
    Location:
    Earth
    Just optimise the BIOS settings and disable power savings such as EIST and speed step as it is suggested by many DAW manufactures such as NI , Steinberg...
     
  5. Ultram

    Ultram Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    brighton uk
    Interesting, Why does Haswell- E and x99 work badly, where did you read that?, as all I've read is positivity, more cores = better. But I have read that ableton and many DAW's dont utilise all the cores efficiently
    Running Intel power gadget and Geek bench i can see it reaches the 4.3 oc speed
    am currently looking into EIST and speed step.

    thanks all.
     
  6. JockÄl

    JockÄl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    17
    X99 was never built and supported by Apple in any device, so I guess they did not updated the Mac OS X kernel in any version for it.
     
  7. Ultram

    Ultram Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    brighton uk
    Have turned off the power saving settings haven't noticed much change however disabling hyper-threading in Xcode seems to make my system run so much better. but disabling it in BIOS breaks my Machine.
     
  8. Moogerfooger

    Moogerfooger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    668
    Can't wait to build my Hackibtosh!!!!
     
  9. Moonlight

    Moonlight Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    758
    Location:
    Earth
    Interesting, works li,e a charm here when i disable eist etc...
    However when i disable hyperthreading i get a much lower performance.
    I am curios how do you disabled hyperthreading in xcode ?
     
  10. Moonlight

    Moonlight Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    758
    Location:
    Earth
  11. Ultram

    Ultram Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    brighton uk
    this is what i do seems to improve things:

    you have to have Xcode installed.

    Search for "Instruments" with Spotlight (cmd+space), open the application and go to the preferences (cmd+,). Select the "CPUs" tab and untick "Hardware Multi-Threading".

    However, after restarting your Mac it will be enabled again.

    Machine is working much better after I disabled hyperthreading as above and all the throttling and power saving settings in BIOS,
    also internet off stops glitching
     
  12. Mostwest

    Mostwest Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    213
    My i7-4790k and my old i3-550 they both perform better under OSX than Windows. Only specialized versions of windows will reduce che differences in performance.
     
  13. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2,288
    Likes Received:
    1,371
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    X99 hackintosh here too, El Capitan 10.11.6 and Clover to boot, Core i7-5820K paired with 32GB RAM here too (clocked at 4.2GHz and ram underclocked to 2400MHz as it seems more stable during boot stage, although Windows 7 runs fine at 4.3GHz and 2666MHz ram, rig is silence-optimized, cooler Noctua NH-U14S idling around 300rpm, so that's why fairly low clocks), my mobo is ASUS X99-S (basically Deluxe without Wi-Fi), my audio interface is RME HDSPe AIO (flawless Hackintosh support), os drive is 500GB 850 EVO SSD, and performance is amazing,
    using Reaper as my DAW, recently made this track and when playing "realtime" with about 9 virtual instruments, 9 edited audio drum tracks, some buses and in total about 60 AU/AUi/VST3/VST3i FX' cpu usage didn't go past 25% and ram usage didn't go over 2.8GB ram
     
  14. Ultram

    Ultram Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    brighton uk
    Trying to work out whats going on with my Hackintosh, So I disabled all power throttling in BIOS, EIST C3 etc, And running a OC of 4.3ghz. However when running Intel Power gadget I can sometimes see my CPU frequency going up and down and thats when i get annoying pops pauses and general Ableton glitches, however somedays the Frequency stays at 4.3 constant and Live runs like butter. Does anyone know why this is. thanks
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Anyone running 5820k Forum Date
Anyone else having the problem of keygens not running win 10? PC Sep 19, 2021
Anyone running Iced Audio's Audiofinder on PC using a VM? Software Jul 30, 2016
Anyone Have USB Xtreme FX VSTI running? Software Jan 4, 2015
Anyone else struggling with NI Battery's user library system? Software Reviews and Tutorials Tuesday at 5:23 PM
Anyone know of a software to mirror phone on Windows PC? Lounge Monday at 11:39 AM
Loading...