Anyone of you have experience with Upwork or similar freelancing ?

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by justsomerandomdude, Mar 2, 2022.

1. justsomerandomdude

justsomerandomdude Platinum Record

Can u guys help me?
    Lets just say for Example I am making an intro and outro music for a youtube video. In my profile i haven't mentioned anything about Mastering, do the clients their expect it to be Mastered, can i or do i let them know i dont do mastering. Because i am not a mastering engineer, until for my own tracks after mixing and completion, i send them to someone to get it mastered.
    Any of u have experience in this? What should i do :dunno:
    Thanks in advance.

3. BEAT16

BEAT16 Audiosexual

The client expects you to provide them with usable intros and outros, how you do that is entirely up to you. He pays you for the commissioned service and the result. I wouldn't write that you send it away, because that can be interpreted to your disadvantage.

4. justsomerandomdude

can you explain pls
    and Thank you for the answer dude.

5. kh_minusone

kh_minusone Guest

What BEAT16 means is, a lot of clients don't understand what "mastering" means; they don't care about the process or tools used, but rather the resulting product. So if you tell them that you'll send the track they paid for, to someone else for "mastering", what they'll likely think is that you'll outsource the track they paid you for.

6. BEAT16

BEAT16 Audiosexual

A customer who places an order with you expects you to process his order and execute it to his satisfaction.
    If you do your job well, the customer will come back and recommend you.
    You ask yourself the question whether you should write that in your profile purely, that you involve a third person, that can (does not have to) cause an uncertainty factor with the customer. He may wonder what will happen to his order if the 3rd person is sick, for example. As I said, it can - but it doesn't have to.