Any reaper daw user? i have a question

Discussion in 'Reaper' started by samsome, Jan 21, 2021.

  1. samsome

    samsome Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    117
    I have parameter modulation on a track that controls the volume knob
    https://i.ibb.co/GtZG7tT/volume.png
    but now i want to add reverb as a next step and I don't want it to be affected by that volume knob

    can i do this within the same track?? by adding the reverb after it....but this causes it to be affected by the volume automation as above


    or do i need to create another track and make it 100% wet reverb, is this the only solution? creating another track?
     
  2. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    you can use channel splitter to obtain another 2 channels within the track, which you can FX separately and merge (blend amount as you wish, using mixer plugin) back afterwards,
    slightly more complex way would also split band those additional channels, so you could simultaneously high-pass and low-pass "sidechain" signal into the reverb:

     
  3. livemouse

    livemouse Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    26
    it's probably not a bad idea to create a separate track called "reverb" and send the audio to it, but specify "pre-FX" in the "routing for track ..." options window.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  4. Al Flip

    Al Flip Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Volume/fader slider will manage the final output of the track, regardless of what you have in it. I guess the best solution for you is to create another track with the reverb and send your dry signal, pre-fader, to it.
     
  5. No Avenger

    No Avenger Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    5,274
    Likes Received:
    3,731
    Location:
    Europe
    Yep, that's the only solution I know of too. But I'm not a Reaper expert.

    ... wouldn't be sufficient in this case, you'll need to set it to Pre-FX.
     
  6. Futurewine

    Futurewine Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    Sound City Labs
    Just fyi you can insert fx on individual item itself... so as another option, you can try like:

    1. Putting modulation FX on media item fx
    2. Putting reverb fx on media item mixing channel..

    something like that :shalom:
     
  7. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,359
    Likes Received:
    2,465
    Location:
    Where the sun doesn't shine.
    What is usually called "Pre-Fader" on a HW mixer, but it's called "Pre-FX" in Reaper. This is the simplest solution. :wink:
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  8. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,568
    Likes Received:
    2,357
    :rofl:

    Your title gave me a good laugh ... In this section, may be not, but what if you look into "reaper" section ... who knows...

    OK, out of joke, I'm changing your thread to the right section, btw, you could change the title to something more descriptive... :winker:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - reaper user question Forum Date
All Reaper users should watch this Reaper Sep 27, 2016
Reaper: Stunning looking Ableton Live Theme for free ! Reaper Friday at 7:47 PM
Reaper/Ample Sound guitar Reaper Feb 20, 2021
Reaper Daw question - Tracks volume - all together reset to 0 Reaper Feb 8, 2021
Why is reaper loading WINDRVDIR\pacer.sys ? Reaper Jan 22, 2021
Loading...