Another audio interface hard choice...

Discussion in 'Studio' started by GodHimSelf, Mar 9, 2017.

1. GodHimSelf

GodHimSelf Platinum Record

Hey! I bring another conundrum to you all.
    I have about 800-900€ to get a new audio interface. Something that might weight in my decision is the fact that I am switching countries, meaning portability is important but not imperative. I am an intermediate-advanced producer and mixer/mastering engineering with a small business.
    My options (open to suggestions) are:
    - RME Babyface Pro (portability, expandability ADAT) - I don't know if this one handles my HD650
    - Focusrite Clarett 8Pre (big rack unit but it's a future investment for recording and enlarging an eventual studio/4Pre - small version of 8Pre)
    - Apollo Twin (I am not that fond of these but they are portable, and well UAD plugs)
    - Audient stuff (I don't know that much but I hope you mega-experts do)
    - any other that may sit in that range of price

Thank you for your help and input,
    D.

3. Sombra

Sombra Member

Sound quality is great out of all of them. Just choose the inputs and outputs you need and the features.

Audient - Rave reviews and the least expensive from your options. Can't go wrong here.

Focusrite Clarett 8Pre - Meh. I don't trust Focusrite's drivers so this one would be at the bottom of my list.

Apollo Twin - This one I would only go for if you really (and I mean REALLY) want their plugins. In my opinion, it's 2017 and there are plenty of great plugins out there that sound just as good, not as expensive, and not tied to their hardware. Be warned. Once you get caught in UAD's ecosystem, you're pretty much stuck with them because you wouldn't want to spend all that money on expensive plugins and not use them in the future if you choose to use something else.